Certification for Sonography

The American Registry for Diagnostic Medical Sonography (ARDMS), incorporated in June 1975 is an independent, nonprofit organization that administers examinations and awards credentials in the areas of diagnostic medical sonography, diagnostic cardiac sonography and vascular technology.

ARDMS offers these credentials:

  • RDMS Registered Diagnostic Medical Sonographer
  • RDCS Registered Diagnostic Cardiac Sonographer
  • RVT Registered Vascular Technologist
Specialty areas within the sonographer credentials include abdomen, breast, neurosonology, obstetrics and gynecology, and fetal echocardiography (RDMS); adult, pediatric and fetal echocardiography (RDCS); and noninvasive vascular technology (RVT).

Recognition of ARDMS practices has earned all ARDMS credentials to be accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA). ARDMS has certified more than 60,000 individuals and has become a recognized standard for diagnostic medical ultrasound credentialing.

ARDMS credentials document personal achievement of recognized professional standards. Credentials awarded by ARDMS are widely accepted in the medical community by ultrasound and vascular professional organizations.

Upon completion of the Diagnostic Medical Sonography Program at UNMC, graduates are eligible to apply to take examinations on Abdomen, OB/GYN, Physics, and Neurosonography.

For more information regarding the ARDMS and requirements for registration, please contact:

The American Registry of Diagnostic Medical Sonography
51 Monroe Street
Plaza East One
Rockville, Maryland 20850-2400