COP Award Recipients

2013 Award Recipient:

Early Career Achievement Award: Elizabeth D. Hermsen, Pharm.D. '01, M.B.A., BCPS-ID


Elizabeth Hermsen is a Clinical Outcomes Research Director at Cubist Pharmaceuticals, Inc. She is also an Adjunct Associate Professor at the University of Nebraska Medical Center, College of Pharmacy in Elizabeth HermsenOmaha.  

Dr. Hermsen received her Doctor of Pharmacy degree from the University of Nebraska Medical Center in 2001.  She proceeded to pursue post-doctoral training, including a pharmacy practice residency at The Nebraska Medical Center, a fellowship in Infectious Diseases Research at the University of Minnesota College of Pharmacy, and a masters in business administration with emphasis on marketing and healthcare industry from the University of Minnesota Carlson School of Management. 

Following her fellowship, Dr. Hermsen developed and co-directed the antimicrobial stewardship program at The Nebraska Medical Center before joining the Cubist team as the Clinical Scientific Director for the Midwest until recently accepting her new position with Cubist.  

Dr. Hermsen is a Board Certified Pharmacotherapy Specialist with added qualifications in Infectious Diseases.  She has contributed to the profession with numerous publications in peer-reviewed journals, book contributions, and by serving as a reviewer for several professional journals.  Dr. Hermsen has also given a number of presentations at state, regional, national, and international meetings. 

Dr. Hermsen recently completed her term as Past-President of the Society for Infectious Disease Pharmacists and holds memberships in the American College of Clinical Pharmacy, the Infectious Disease Society of America, the Society for Healthcare Epidemiology of America, the American Society of Microbiology, and the Industry Pharmacists Organization.   She is a past board member, Treasurer, and President of the UNMC College of Pharmacy Alumni Association, where she was instrumental in creating alumni-sponsored activities for current pharmacy students to help facilitate the transition from student to alumni.
At Cubist, Dr. Hermsen was recognized in 2012 with the Most Valuable Player Award, selected by her peer group within the company, and in 2011 with the Innovation Award for development of the Antimicrobial Stewardship Outreach Group.  Among many of her other professional awards and distinctions, Dr. Hermsen was recognized as the Preceptor of the Year in 2009 and 2007 from the Nebraska Medical Center Residency Program, selected by post-graduate residents.

Past Recipients
2012 Honorary Alumnus Award
Edward B. "Ted" Roche, PhD

2011 Distinguished Alumnus Award
Charles Krobot, PharmD, '84

Honorary Alumnus Award

2010 R. Desmond Gibson, PhD

Distinguished Alumni Award Recipients

Sidney Stohs, B.S.P., 1962, M.S., 1964, PhD

Not awarded

Not awarded

2007 Scott A. Swigart, '82

2006 Janel T. Foote, '74

2005 Ronald J. Hospodka, '65, '71

2004 Sam Augustine, '73, '79

2003 Joe Smith, '65

2002 Donna Soflin, '75

2001 Jerome Schentag, '73

2000 Thomas Cady, '41
Leland (Lee) Lucke, '51
Witold Saski, '54
Donald L. Sorby, '55

1999 Theodore E. Hustead '29
Lewis E. Harris, '32
Melvin Gibson, '42
Tom S. Miya, '47
Varro S. Tyler, '49
Joseph D. Williams, '50

Early Career Achievement Award Recipients

Sara Burda Alvarez, PharmD, '02

2009 Lee J. Handke, '99

2008 Daren L. Knoell, '89

2007 James J. Rybacki, '87

2006 Janellle M. Massey, '89