Shanghai Jiao Tong University School of Medicine (SJTUSM)

Shanghai Jiao Tong University School of Medicine -- formerly known as Shanghai Secondary Medical School -- came from the incorporation of St. John's Medical College (1896~1952), Aurora Medical College (1911~1952), and Tong-De Medical College (1918~1952) in 1952 during the national reorganization of higher educational institutes. There is a 12,400-member staff team and 9,900 specialists in various fields. Among them there are 1,200 people with senior professional titles, including four academicians of the National Science Academy and National Engineering Academy, two leading scientists of the National 973 Project and a number of young and experienced scholars with international recognition. 

The Shanghai Jiao Tong system includes 10 colleges, such as Basic Medical College and Clinical Medical College, six affiliated university hospitals, 15 teaching hospitals, one vocational nursing school, and one national nursing school. There are five undergraduate programs, two college-level programs, two seven-year programs and one eight-year program. Since its establishment, the system has had 26,000 graduates. Currently, there are 5,100 students, including 800 graduate students, 3,700 undergraduate students, 60 foreign students and 2,350 students of continuing education. The system also has co-op agreements with the Chinese Academy of Science, the World Health Organization, the United Nations Population Foundation, HuaXia Foundation HK Ltd. and U.S. Project HOPE. These joint projects have greatly promoted the development of health care, medical education and research at the university. Since 1991, the Shanghai Municipal Government has recognized the university as the city’s model institute. The Shanghai Jiao Tong University School of Medicine is working to be a leader in health care, medical education and research. 

For more information, visit their website.