Executive Committee

The Behavioral Health Education Center of Nebraska, BHECN, was created by the Nebraska legislature and is located at the University of Nebraska Medical Center. It is a collaborative effort between all University of Nebraska campuses, Creighton University, consumers and family members, community agencies, law enforcement, hospitals, and governmental entities.

The BHECN Executive Committee provides advice, guidance, and support for the continuing development of high quality programs and best practices at BHECN. The Executive Committee refers to LB 603 as it directs BHECN in fulfilling its mission.

Executive Committee Members:

Rod Markin, MD, PhD
Associate Vice Chancellor for Business Development and Chief Technology Officer
University of Nebraska Medical Center

Rhonda Hawks
The Hawks Foundation

Steven Wengel, MD
UNMC Department of Psychiatry Chair and Professor

Tom Svolos, MD
Creighton Department of Psychiatry, Chair

Eleanor Howell, PhD, RN
Creighton School of Nursing, Dean and Professor

Howard Liu, MD ex officio
BHECN Medical Director

Brent Khan, EdD ex officio
BHECN Associate Director