About the Faculty

Over 60 faculty provide expertise and research in 5 academic departments.

image1 image2

College of Dentistry Faculty Listing (.50 FTE and above)

UNMC College of Dentistry faculty are recognized nationally for providing outstanding classroom and clinical education and cutting edge research that results in talented practitioners who deliver the highest quality of oral health services to patients throughout the region and beyond. Faculty are arranged by department and alphabeticallyby last name.

Adult Restorative Dentistry

 Oral Biology

General dentistry, biomaterials, operative dentistry, prosthodontics, temporomandibular disorders
Julie A. Marshall, Interim Department Chair
Biomedical sciences, behavioral sciences, practice management, radiology, oral pathology, biomonitoring, public health
David H. Shaw, Department Chair
Yoshiharu Ameku | General dentistry
Ronald Attanasio | Prosthodontics, TMD
Mark W. Beatty | Dental materials, biomaterials
Gerard Byrne | Prosthodontics, implant dentistry
David A. Covey | Operative
Mary Lynn Froeschle | Clinical diagnosis
Larry D. Haisch | Operative
Paul A. Hansen | Prosthodontics, implant dentistry
Thomas E. Heuke | Priority care
James F. Jenkins | Faculty practice
William W. Johnson | Biomaterials
Jennifer K. Kallio | Priority care
Bongok Kim | Prosthodontics, implant dentistry
Julie A. Marshall | Prosthodontics, implant dentistry
Myhanh T. Phan-Rinne | General dentistry
Myron L. Pudwill | Prosthodontics, implant dentistry
John W. Reinhardt | Dean of College | Operative
Henry A. St. Germain, Jr. | Operative
Ernest W. Sigler | Geriatric, special patient care
Joan E. Sivers | Prosthodontics, implant dentistry
Hidehiko Watanabe | Operative
David G. Brown | Executive Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
Larry D. Crouch | Biochemistry, physiology
David G. Dunning | Practice management
Dennis E. Feely | Histology
Eric Y.K. Fung | Pharmacology, therapeutics
Peter J. Giannini | Oral pathology
Shawneen M. Gonzalez | Dental radiology
Randal L. Haack | Assistant Dean of Operations
Stanton D. Harn | Anatomy
Dona J. Housh | Physiology
Keith R. Johnson  | Cellular signaling
Brian M. Lange | Behavioral science, service learning
Kim K. McFarland |Dental public health
Nagamani Narayana | Oral pathology
Ali Nawshad | Cellular signaling
Gregory G. Oakley | DNA damage and repair
Aimin Peng | Cell cycle regulation
Thomas M. Petro | Immunology
David H. Shaw | Pharmacology, therapeutics
James K. Wahl | Cellular signaling

 Surgical Specialties

 Growth and Development

Endodontics, oral surgery, periodontics, implant dentistry
J. Bruce Bavitz, Department Chair
Orthodontics, dentofacial orthopedics, pediatric dentistry, general practice residency
Jillian Wallen, Department Chair
Fahd Alsalleeh | Endodontics
J. Bruce Bavitz | Oral surgery, implant dentistry
Matthew R. Byarlay | Periodontics, implant dentistry
Darrell J. Ebke | Oral surgery
Tom G. Gound | Endodontics
Jennifer A. Harn | Co-Director Undergraduate Periodontic Clinic
Wayne B. Kaldahl | Periodontics
Amy C. Killeen | Periodontics
Hany M. Makkawy | Endodontics
Jeffrey B. Payne | Periodontics
Richard A. Reinhardt | Periodontics
G. Lane Stephenson | Endodontics
Gerald J. Tussing | Periodontics
Merlyn Vogt | Endodontics

Timothy M. Durham | Assistant Dean for Patient Services, Quality Officer
Zachary L. Houser | Pediatric dentistry
Alan L. Hergenrader | General dentistry
Sundaralingam Premaraj | Orthodontics
Thyagaseely (Sheela) Premaraj | Orthodontics
Jillian Wallen | Department Chair, pediatric dentistry

 Dental Hygiene

Gwen Hlava, Department Chair  

Caren M. Barnes 
Darlene F. Carritt | Senior clinical technique
Amanda M. Clark | Junior & senior clinic
Nicole M. Baker | Clinical instructor, Gering, NE
Heather M. Hessheimer | Junior clinic coordinator
Todd N. Junge | Junior & senior clinic
Gwen L. Hlava | Department Chair
Lisa J. Moravec | Program coordinator, Gering, NE
Lindsay K. Mundil | Medical emergencies, Junior & senior clinic
Brenda D. Utecht | Dental anatomy, community dental health

 Top of page 

Alsalleeh, FahdAmeku, YoshiharuAttanasio, Ronald


Faculty, alphabetical, by last name

A - C

Alsalleeh, Fahd
Ameku, Yoshiharu
Attanasio, Ronald

Baker, Nicole
Barnes, Caren
Bavitz, J. Bruce
Beatty, Mark
Brown, David
Byarlay, Matthew
Byrne, Gerard 
Carritt, Darlene
Clark, Amanda
Covey, David
Crouch, Larry 
 D - G   
Dunning, David
Timothy M. Durham
Ebke, Darrell Feely, Dennis
Froeschle, Mary Lynn
Fung, Eric
Giannini, Peter
Gonzalez, Shawneen
Gound, Tom 
 H - M   
Haack, Randal
Haisch, Larry 
Hansen, Paul
Harn, Jennifer
Harn, Stanton
Alan L. Hergenrader
Hessheimer, Heather
Heuke, Thomas
Hlava, Gwen
Housch, Dona
Jenkins, James
Johnson, Keith
Johnson, William
Junge, Todd


Kallio, Jennifer
Killeen, Amy
Kim, Bongkok

Lange, Brian

Marshall, Julie
Makkawy, Hany
McFarland, Kim
Moravec, Lisa
Mundil, Lindsay
 N - R   
Narayana, Nagamani
Nawshad, Ali
Oakley, Gregory Payne, Jeffrey
Peng, Aimin
Petro, Thomas
Phan-Rinne, Myhanh
Sundaralingam Premaraj
Thyagaseely (Sheela) Premaraj
Pudwill, Myron
Reinhardt, John, Dean of College
Reinhardt, Richard
 S - Z   
Shaw, David
Sigler, Ernest
Sivers, Joan
St. Germain, Henry
Stephenson, G. Lane
Tussing, Gerald

Utecht, Brenda

Vogt, Merlyn

Wahl, James
Watanabe, Hidehiko
Wallen, Jillian
Top of page