Current Students

Shalis Ammons
Advisor: Hamid Band MD.,Ph.D.
Ph.D Student
shalis.ammons@unmc.edu
B. S., Florida State University
Research Interest: Breast Cancer Biology. Particularly working with the Ecdysoneless (Ecd), as a cell cycle regulator in breast cancer.
Post-Graduation plans: After graduation, I would like to continue my research in breast cancer working in an industrial company.

 Shalis Ammons

Wei An
Advisor: Hamid Band, M.D., Ph.D.
Ph.D. Student
wei.an@unmc.edu
B.S., Beijing Normal University
Research Interest: Mechanism of HSC expansion in the absence of Cbl/Cbl-b
Post Graduate Plans: Academia

Wei An

Priyanka Arya
Advisor: Hamid Band, M.D., Ph.D.
Ph.D. Student
priyanka.arya@unmc.edu
M.S., Bangalore University, India
Research Interests: The role of endocytic recycling regulator EHD1 in normal ocular development
Post-Graduation Plans: Industry

Priyanka Arya

Aditya Bele
Advisor: Vimla Band, Ph.D.
Ph.D. Student
abele@unmc.edu
M.S., University of Mumbai, India
Research Interests: The role of Ecdysoneless in cell cycle and cancer
Post-Graduation Plans: Industry

Aditya Bele

Divya Bhagirath
Advisor: Vimla Band, Ph.D.
Ph.D. Student
divya.bhagirath@unmc.edu
M.S All India Institute of Medical Sciences, India
Research Interests: Stem cell microenvironment
Post Graduation Plans: Academia

Divya Bhagirath

Adam Cornish
Advisor: Babu Guda,Ph.D.
Ph.D Student
adam.cornish@unmc.edu
B. S., University of Nebraska at Omaha
Research Interest: Next Generation Sequencing data analysis
Post-Graduation plans: Industry

Adam S. Cornish 

Bradley Downs
Advisor: San Ming Wang, Ph.D.
Ph.D. Student
bradley.downs@unmc.edu
M.S., University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Lincoln, NE
Research Interest: Cancer Genomics
Post-Graduation Plans: Undecided  

 Bradley Downs

Alek Erickson
Advisor: Andrew Dudley, Ph.D.
Ph.D. Student
alek.erickson@unmc.edu
B.S. University Nebraska Lincoln, Lincoln NE
Research interests: Organic-mineral tissue interface, osteochondral tissue engineering
Post-graduation plans: Academia

 

 Alek Erickson

Nicolas Griffin
Advisor: Vimla Band, Ph.D.
Ph.D. Student
nicolas.griffin@unmc.edu
B.S., Eastern Michigan University, Ypsilanti, MI
Research Interests: Mammary and breast cancer stem cells
Post-Graduation Plans: Industry



 Nicolas Griffin

Fany Iseka
Advisor: Hamid Band, M.D., Ph.D.
Ph.D. Student
fany.iseka@unmc.edu
B.S.
Research Interests: Study the role of EHD Proteins in Immunological synapse
Post-Graduation Plans: Undecided

 Fany Iseka

You Li
Advisor: Babu Guda, Ph.D.
Ph.D. Student
you.li@unmc.edu
M.S., University of Edinburgh, UK
Research Interest: Bioinformatics, Genetics
Post-Graduation plans : Undecided.

 You Li

Haitao Luan
Advisor: Hamid Band, M.D., Ph.D.
Ph.D. Student
haitao.luan@unmc.edu
M.S., East China University of Science and Technology, Shanghai, China
B. E., Nanjing University of Technology, Jiangsu, China
Research interest:Identify molecular determinants of Trastuzumab resistance in breast cancer
Post-Graduation Plans: Undecided

Haitao Luan

Akram Mohammed
Advisor: Babu Guda, Ph.D
Ph.D. Student
akram.mohammed@unmc.edu
M.S. SUNY Albany
Research Interest: Develop computational method for predicting enzyme classes, Bioinformatics
Post-Graduation Plans: Academia

Akram Mohammed

Shakur Mohibi
Advisor: Vimla Band, Ph.D.
Ph.D. Student
smohibi@unmc.edu
M.S., Maharaja Sayajirao University of Baroda, India
Research Interests: The role of ADA complex in cell cycle progression and cancer
Post-Graduation Plans: Academia

Shakur Mohibi

Scott Nadeau
Advisor: Hamid Band, M.D., Ph.D.
Masters Student
snadeau@unmc.edu
B.S., University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Lincoln, NE
Research interest: Mechanisms of oncogenic transformation induced by human tumor-associated Cbl oncogenes
Post-Graduation Plans: Undecided

Scott Nadeau

Simarjeet K. Negi
Advisor: Babu Guda, Ph.D
Ph.D. Student
simarjeet.negi@unmc.edu
M.S., Guru Nanak Dev University, India
Research Interest: Bioinformatics
Post-Graduation Plans: Academia

 Simarjeet K. Negi

Richie Nelson
Advisor: Karen Gould, Ph.D
Ph.D Student
rknelson@unmc.edu
B.S., Nebraska Wesleyan University; Lincoln, NE
Research Interests: The role and basis of which estrogen receptor in T-cells plays in lupus.
Post-Graduate Plans: Academia

Richie Nelson

Appolinaire Olou
Advisor: Vimla Band, PhD.
PhD Student
appolinaire.olou@unmc.edu
B.S, University of Nebraska Omaha, NE.
Research interest: Biology of Ecd and role in breast carcinogenesis.
Post-graduation plan: Undecided.



 Appolinaire Olou

Karla L. Otterpohl
Advisor: Karen Gould, Ph.D.
Ph.D. Student
kotterpohl@unmc.edu
B.S., Iowa State University, Ames, IA
Research Interests: Colorectal tumorigenesis in ApcMin/+ mice and the effects of different genetic backgrounds.
Post Graduate Plans: Academia

Karla L. Otterpohl

Staci Peters
Advisor: Rene Opavsky, Ph.D.
Ph.D. Student
staci.peters@unmc.edu
B.S., University of Northern Colorado
Research Interest: The role of DNA methlyation in normal hematapoiesis and cancer
Post-Graduation Plans:  Academia

 Staci Peters

Shayla Reffert
Advisor: Karen Gould, PhD.
Ph.D. Student
shayla.reffert@unmc.edu
B.S., University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Lincoln, NE
Research interests: The role of estrogen receptor alpha in promoting Lupus.
Post-Graduation plans: Academia

Shayla Reffert

Sarah M. Romereim
Advisor: Andrew Dudley, Ph.D.
Ph.D. Student
sarah.romereim@unmc.edu
B.S., Baker University, Baldwin City, KS
Research interests: Growth plate cartilage signaling and cell behaviors that drive bone growth.
Post-graduation plans: Academia

 Sarah Romereim

Shrabasti Roychoudhury
Advisor: Kishor k Bhakat Ph.D.
Ph.D Student
s.roychoudhury@unmc.edu
M.S. St. Xavier's College, Kolkata, India
Research Interest: Epigenetic memory of cancer cells
Post-Graduation plans: Academia

Shrabasti Roychoudhury

Krishna Sarma
Advisor: Andrew Dudley, Ph.D.
krishna.sarma@unmc.edu
Previous degree: B.S Stony Brook University, Stony Brook, NY
Research interest: Regenerative medicine, Osteoarthritis, Chondrocyte hypertrophy
Post-Graduation Plans: Physician/Scientist

 Krishna Sarma

Ashima Shukla
Advisor: Shantaram Joshi, Ph.D.
Ph.D. Student
ashima.bhakri@unmc.edu
B.S., Sikkim Manipal University
Research Interest: To study the effects of Cbl mutation in hematopoietic stem cells
Post-Graduation Plans: Undecided

 Ashima Shukla

Vipul Shukla
Advisor: Runqing Lu, Ph.D.
Ph.D. Student
vipul.shukla@unmc.edu
M.S.
Research Interest: Role of IRF-4 and Irf-8 in Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia
Post-Graduation Plans: Academia

 Vipul Shukla

Shashank Srivastava
Advisor: Vimla Band, Ph.D.
Ph.D. Student  
shashank.srivastava@unmc.edu
Bachelor of Technology (Major: Biotechnology), VIT University, Vellore, Tamilnadu, India
Research Interest: Role of posttranslational modification of Ada3 in cell cycle and cancer  
Post-Graduation Plans: Industry/Academia  

 Shashank Srivastava

Dana Tabor
Advisor: Karen Gould, Ph.D.
Ph.D. Student
dana.tabor@unmc.edu
B.S., University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Lincoln, NE
Research Interest: Investigating the role of B-cells in lupus
Post-Graduation Plans:Undecided

Dana Tabor

Suleyman Vural
Advisor: Babu Guda, Ph.D.
Ph.D. Student
suleyman.vural@unmc.edu
MS, SUNY Albany
Research Interest: Bioinformatics
Post-Graduation Plans: Academia

Suleyman Vural

Kristin E Wipfler
Advisor: Babu Guda, Ph.D.
Ph.D. Student
kristin.wipfler@unmc.edu
BS, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Lincoln, NE
Research Interest: Genomics, Bioinformatics
Post-Graduation Plans: Undecided

 Kristin E. Wipfler

Fengxia Xiao
Advisor: San Ming Wang, Ph.D.
Ph.D. Student
fengxia.xiao@unmc.edu
Master of Medicine, Shandong University, Shandong Province, China
Research Interest: Cancer Genomics
Post-Graduation Plans: Undecided

Fengxia Xiao

Haowei Yi
Advisor: Jenny Wang, Ph.D.
Ph.D. Student
haowei.yi@unmc.edu
Master of Medicine, Jilin University, Jilin Province, China
Research Interest:  cancer biology
Post-Graduation Plans: Undecided

 Haowei Yi

Yang (Jerry) Zhang
Advisor: Jenny Wang, Ph.D.
Ph.D. Student
yang.zhang@unmc.edu
B.S., Hunan Normal University, Hunan, P.R. China
Research Interest: miRNAs and cancer biology
Post-Graduation Plans: Undecided

 Yang Zhang

 

;