523 Medical Histology Schedule

COURSE DIRECTOR: Shantaram S. Joshi, Ph.D. and Carrie Elzie, Ph.D.

COURSE DESCRIPTION: The modern concepts of cell and tissue biology including molecular cell biology are incorporated into a framework of a traditional histology course. It is expected that the student will achieve an understanding of the histological structure as well as the ultrastructure upon which much of the current knowledge of normal and pathological function is based. The course will include 40 hours of lecture scheduled in the mornings. Laboratory sessions will be held Monday through Friday, from 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. Cells, fundamental tissues and organs will be studied with virtual microscopy, but gross slides and microscopes will also be available. Digital images of light microscopic and electron microscopic preparations will also be used. Students also have access to a videodisc library of histological photographs.

TEXT: Students may use a current edition of any appropriate Histology textbook. However, we recommend Histology 6th Edition by Ross. In addition, we recommend Color Atlas of Histology by Leslie P. Gartner and James L. Hiatt. Supplementary laboratory manuals and materials will be supplied.

EXAMINATIONS: Mid-term and final Examinations over the didactic components of this course will be given as multiple choice questions in the format of the USMLE. The examinations over the laboratory practical components of the course will consist of identification of structures on virtual microscopy images and digital images of both light and electron microscopic images. Lecture and laboratory quizzes will also be held at various times over materials covered during the previous week. The major part of the course grade will be based on the student's performance on the mid-term and final Examinations. The Course Director reserves the right to upgrade student's scores, if appropriate, but under no circumstances will student's scores be reduced.

                 DAY LECTURE
9:00 a.m.  -  11:00 a.m.
LABORATORY
1:00 p.m.  - 1:00 p.m.
June 16 Mon Methods to study cell structure and function (SSJ)
Structure and functions of cells I (SSJ)
Introduction to Virtual Microscopy
June 17 Tues Structure and functions of cells II (SSJ)
Cell division, Cell Cycle Regulations (SSJ)
Cell Structure (SSJ)
June 18 Wed Connective Tissue, ECM and Adhesion Molecules (CAE) Connective Tissue (CAE)
June 19 Thur Epithelium Integument (SSJ) Epithelium and Integument (SSJ)
June 20 Fri Muscle (GLT) Muscle (GLT)
June 23 Mon Hematopoiesis and blood cells (SSJ) Hematopoiesis/ blood cells (SSJ)
June 24 Tues Lymphoid System (SSJ) Lymphoid Tissues (SSJ)
June 25 Wed Cartilage and Bone (ADD) Cartilage and Bone (ADD)
June 26 Thur REVIEW
June 27 Fri MID-TERM EXAMINATION
June 30 Mon Urinary System (SSJ) Urinary System (SSJ)
July 1 Tues Cardiovascular System (CAE) Cardiovascular System (GLT)
July 2 Wed Male Reproductive System (CAE) Male Reproductive System (CAE)
July 3 Thurs Female Reproductive System, Placenta (CAE) Female Reproductive System (CAE)
July 4 Fri Endocrine System (CAE)  Endocrine System (CAE)
July 7 Mon Gastrointestinal System I (SSJ) Gastrointestinal System I (SSJ)
July 8 Tues Gastrointestinal System II (SSJ) Gastrointestinal System II (SSJ)
July 9 Wed Respiratory System (SSJ) Respiratory System (SSJ)
July 10 Thur REVIEW
July 11 Fri FINAL EXAMINATION

(SSJ: Dr. Shantaram Joshi; CAE: Dr. Carrie Elzie; GLT: Dr. Gordon Todd; ADD: Dr. Andrew Dudley)

;