The Rosalee C. Yeaworth Teaching Excellence Award

The Rosalee C. Yeaworth Teaching Excellence Award acknowledges a current full or part-time faculty member for his/her teaching excellence. Nominations from undergraduate students, graduate students, faculty, and alumni are encouraged.


All current full and part-time College of Nursing faculty are eligible for nomination.

Award Criteria:

  • inspiring student learning;
  • promoting thinking, knowing, and personal and professional integrity;
  • creating a caring learning environment that allows the student to apply new knowledge;
  • helping students develop through interaction with other students, clients, and colleagues;
  • showing concern for and interest in students and their learning;
  • developing creative teaching strategies that facilitate learning;
  • using meaningful assignments to reinforce/extend learning;
  • helping students to extend their thoughts and learning beyond their expectations;
  • making a lasting impact on the student;
  • living the role of a nurse educator.

To nominate a faculty member:


Download the nomination form and complete with your name, the nominee's name and cite specific examples of how the faculty member demonstrates these criteria. Additional sheets may be attached with a maximum of 2 to 3 pages for a nominee. Deadline for submission is March 15.

The recipient will receive a glass award and a monetary award of $1,000.

The names of nominators will be removed from the nomination materials before the Graduate Affairs Committee & the Undergraduate Curriculum Committee review the nominations. Selections will be determined by the Graduate Affairs Committee & the Undergraduate Curriculum Committee.

Send nominations to:


Rita Schmitz (e-mail:
Assistant Professor
UNMC College of Nursing - Lincoln Division
1230 O Street
Lincoln, NE 68588-0220


Kathy Morris (e-mail:
Chair, Graduate Affairs Committee
UNMC, College of Nursing
985330 Nebraska Medical Center
Omaha, NE 68198-5330