# A. ROSS MCINTYRE

# AWARD CONVOCATION

# Past Recipients (listed with their titles at the time the honor was conferred)

# 2014 José Jalife, M.D.

Professor of Internal Medicine and The Cyrus and Jane Farrehi Professor of Cardiovascular Research

Professor of Molecular & Integrative Physiology

Director, Center for Arrhytmia Research

University of Michigan

# 2012 Andras Nagy, Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Molecular Genetics, Senior Investigator, Samuel Lunenfeld Research Institute University of Toronto

# 2010 **Kevin P. Campbell, Ph.D.**

Professor, Department of Internal Medicine, Director, Wellstone Muscular Dystrophy Cooperative Research Center and Chair, Department of Molecular Physiology and Biophysics University of Iowa

# 2009 Friedrich C. Luft, M.D.

Professor of Medicine and Director of the Experimental and Clinical Research Center at the Max-Delbruck Center for Molecular Medicine, Berlin, Germany Chief of Nephrology and Hypertension HELIOS Hospital in Berlin-Buch, Germany

# 2007 Howard J. Jacob, Ph.D.

Director, Human and Molecular Genetics Center Warren P. Knowles Chair in Genetics Medical College of Wisconsin Milwaukee, Wisconsin

# 2005 John L. Hall, Ph.D.

Arthur C. Guyton Professor and Chair
Department of Physiology and Biophysics
Director of the Center of Excellence in Cardiovascular-Renal Research
Associate Vice-Chancellor of Research
University of Mississippi Medical Center
Jackson, Mississippi

# 2003 Gabor Kaley, Ph.D.

Professor and Chairman Department of Physiology New York Medical College Valhalla, New York

# 2000 Hermes A. Kontos, M.D., Ph.D.

Vice President for Health Sciences Dean, School of Medicine Virginia Commonwealth University School of Medicine

Richmond, Virginia

# 1998 William J. Koopman, M.D.

Chairman, Department of Medicine University of Alabama School of Medicine Birmingham, Alabama

# 1995 Suzanne Oparil, M.D.

Director, Vascular Biology and Hypertension Program of the Division of Cardiovascular Disease

Professor of Medicine

University of Alabama School of Medicine

Birmingham, Alabama

# 1994 **Denham Harman, M.D., Ph.D.**

Millard Professor of Medicine Head, Section of Biomedical Gerontology

University of Nebraska College of Medicine

Omaha, Nebraska

#### 1993 Edward Bresnick, Ph.D.

James C. Chilcott Professor and Chairman
Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology

**Dartmouth Medical School** 

Director, Norris Cotton Cancer Center

Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center

Hanover, New Hampshire

# 1991 John T. Shepherd, M.D., D.Sc.

Professor Department of Physiology and Biophysics

Mayo Medical School

Rochester, Minnesota

# 1990 Michael Joseph Kuhar, Ph.D.

Professor of Neuroscience, Pharmacology, and Psychiatry

The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

Chief, Neuroscience Branch, Addiction Research Center

National Institute on Drug Abuse

Baltimore, Maryland

# 1989 John Bienenstock, M.D., F.R.C.P. (C)

Professor of Medicine and Pathology

McMaster University Health Sciences Center

Hamilton, Ontario, Canada



# 1988 Oswald Ross McIntyre, M.D.

Professor of Medicine Dartmouth Medical School Hanover, New Hampshire

# TOSS MAINTYRE MORE SOLUTION OF THE SECOND O

# 1987 Russell J. Reiter, Ph.D.

Professor of Neuroendocrinology Department of Cellular and Structural Biology The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio San Antonio, Texas

# 1986 Joseph P. Gilmore, Ph.D.

Professor and Chairman Department of Physiology and Biophysics University of Nebraska College of Medicine Omaha, Nebraska

# 1983 Marshall Nirenberg, Ph.D.

1968 Nobel Laureate - Physiology/or Medicine Chief, Laboratory of Biochemical Genetics National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute National Institutes of Health Bethesda, Maryland

# 1981 Julius Axelrod, Ph.D.

1970 Nobel Laureate - Physiology/or Medicine Chief, Section of Pharmacology Laboratory of Clinical Science National Institute of Mental Health Bethesda, Maryland

# 1979 Bernard Lown, M.D.

Professor of Cardiology Howard University Washington, D.C.

# 1977 Robert N. Butler, M.D.

Director, National Institute on Aging National Institutes of Health Bethesda, MD

#### 1976 Eugene Braunwald, M.D.

Hersey Professor of Theory and Practice of Physics Head of the Department of Medicine Peter Bent Brigham Hospital Boston, Massachusetts

# 1975 E. Donnall Thomas, M.D.

Professor of Medicine; Chief of Oncology University of Washington School of Medicine Director, Medical Oncology, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center Seattle, Washington 1974 **Robert W. Berliner, M.D.**Yale University School of Medicine
New Haven, Connecticut

TO THE MENT IN MENULASES

1973 **The Honorable Daniel Patrick Moynihan** Ambassador to India

1972 Arthur C. Guyton, M.D.
Professor and Chairman
Department of Physiology and Biophysics
University of Mississippi School of Medicine
Jackson, Mississippi