Science Education Partnership Award (SEPA)

Building Bridges: Health Science Education in Native American Communities

Grant # 1 R25 OD011071

Science Education Partnership Award 

This program is funded by a Science Education Partnership Award from National Institutes of Health 

A partnership between the University of Nebraska Medical Center (UNMC), the Aberdeen Area Tribal Chairmen’s Health Board (AATCHB), and K-8 Schools.  

SEPA is a national program funded by the National Center for Research Resources, an institute of the National Institutes of Health. 

SEPA logoThe scope of the SEPA program is to support the development and evaluation of model biomedical science partnerships that focus on health-related sciences.

  The purpose of the program is to encourage partnerships between biomedical scientists, science educators, and community leaders that improve K-12 student and public understanding of the health sciences. 

The objectives of the program are:

  • To stimulate student interest in science…to increase the number of college science majors
  • To develop higher science/technology competency in the workforce
  • To improve society’s science and health research literacy  

The activities of the program are:

  • Conduct Summer Workshops for K-8 Teachers
  • Develop Hands-on Science Curriculum
  • Implement Professional Development and Mentorship for K-8 Teachers
  • Establish Science Camps for Middle School Students
  • Participate in Local Health Fairs and Powwows  


Grant # OD011071 This website and its content is solely the responsibility of the authors and does not necessarily represent the official views of NIH.

General Information
984373 Nebraska Medical
Omaha, NE 68198-4373
phone: 402-559-8106

Informational Brochure

Maurice Godfrey, PhD
Principal Investigator
University of Nebraska Medical Center

Teresa Hartman, MLS
McGoogan Library of Medicine

Randall Toothaker, DDS
VA Nebraska Western Iowa Health Care System

Liliana Bronner, MHSA, CNA
Program Administrator
University of Nebraska Medical Center

Kim Soper
Education Consultant

Jane Larson, PhD
Molly McGarrigle Stuhlsatz, MA

Biological Sciences Curriculum Study 

Shrawan (Sam) Kumar, PhD