Providing the highest quality surgical services to the Midwest

image1 image2 image3 image4

chairman's welcome

Welcome to the Department of Surgery website at the University of Nebraska Medical Center. 

Our local vision is for the Department to be a trend setter and role model for other Departments in the College of Medicine and other participating hospitals. Nationally, our vision is for the Department to be at the forefront of changes to shape our approach and management of patients suffering from surgical diseases. 

Since its inception in 1882, the Department of Surgery at the University of Nebraska has had a long line of prominent chairs playing a major role in training surgical residents, educating medical students, generating new knowledge, and providing the highest quality of surgical care to the State of Nebraska. 

All chairs have maintained a thriving clinical enterprise committed to the Departmental mission. 

The Department is comprised of 9 discrete divisions overseen by the Chairman and a central administration office.  Detailed information for each Division is accessible on this website.

This website will introduce you to our Department as well as our mission and vision. 

We thank you for visiting the University of Nebraska Medical Center Department of Surgery website and we welcome comments and participation.


David W. Mercer, MD
McLaughlin Professor and Chairman
Department of Surgery

David W. Mercer, MD, FACS
David W. Mercer, MD

Dr. Mercer came to the University of Nebraska Medical Center in 2009 after 17 years of service to the University of Texas Medical School at Houston. He is the McLaughlin Professor and Chairman of Surgery and a Professor in the Division of General Surgery.

Give Now