Paul E. Hodgson Lectureship

Paul E. Hodgson, MD

Paul E. Hodgson, MD

Throughout his professional career, Dr. Hodgson made many contributions to the University of Nebraska, but none more important than serving as an excellent role model for the many students and residents who served under him. He was an innovator in surgical education locally and at the national level. Most notable were the many years of leadership he provided in the American College of Surgeons.

Dr. Hodgson received his bachelor’s degree from Beloit College of Beloit, Wisconsin. After completing his M.D. degree at the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor, Michigan, he continued at that institution as a surgery intern, junior resident, and chief resident. Beginning in 1952, Dr. Hodgson served as a faculty member at the University of Michigan first as an Instructor, then as an Assistant Professor, and finally as an Associate Professor of Surgery. From 1956 to 1960, he was the Chief of the Surgical Service at the VA Hospital in Ann Arbor, Michigan.

He was recruited to the University of Nebraska Medical Center in 1962 as a Professor of Surgery. During his tenure at the University of Nebraska he served as Assistant Dean for Academic Affairs from 1969 to 1972 and Chairman of the Department of Surgery from 1974 to 1984. Dr. Hodgson retired from the University of Nebraska College of Medicine on August 31, 1988. Even in retirement, he remained involved and in 2006 he was named one of The Nebraska Medical Center’s “Legends” honoring his remarkable leadership, professionalism, and friendship. Dr. Hodgson served as an Emeritus Professor of Surgery from his retirement until his death on August 28, 2013 at the age of 91. 


In his honor...
Through his devotion to the surgical profession and his selfless generosity, the Department of Surgery is pleased to host the annual Hodgson Visiting Professor Lectureship. It is truly our pleasure to dedicate this lectureship to an individual who made so many contributions to our University and community.

 List of historic guest lecturers:

2014     Frank Lewis, Jr., MD

2013     K. Craig Kent, MD

2012     David N. Herndon, MD

2011     Thomas V. Whalen, MD

2010     Timothy R. Billiar, MD

2009     Ajit K. Sachdeva, MD

2008     Layton F. Rikkers, MD

See complete list