Certification & Licensure

Certification & Licensure for Sonography

Licensure Disclosure
The US Department of Education requires UNMC to make the following disclosures to applicants who are interested in or enrolled in degree programs that lead to state licensure.

Licensure requirements differ from state to state. We are required to notify you if the program you are interested in or enrolled in will meet educational requirements to apply for licensure in your home state. The official categories are: Meets; Does Not Meet; and Have Not Made a Determination if it Does or Does Not Meet.

A Does Not Meet or Have Not Made a Determination status does not indicate that you will be unable to obtain licensure in your home state. Please check with your advisor, department chair, or certification officer for further details. Contact information for each program is found in the program sections below.

Common causes for a Does Not Meet or Have Not Made a Determination include the following:

Diagnostic Medical Sonography Program
Upon successful completion of the Diagnostic Medical Sonography (DMS) program, students are eligible to apply for the American Registry of Diagnostic Medical Sonography (ARDMS) credentialing exam(s) specific to their field of study. Individuals should refer to the Society of Diagnostic Medical Sonography (SDMS) licensure information page for state licensure requirements. Licensure laws vary greatly and are implemented differently in each state. Sonographers are not licensed in the state of Nebraska.

This is information is current as of July 1, 2022. It is the responsibility of the student to confirm licensure eligibility.


Does Not Meet

Have Not Made a Determination

Nebraska (no licensure) NA Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

For further information contact:
Kim Michael or 402.559.1189

Program website