Certification & Licensure

The American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) is the credentialing organization that recognizes individuals qualified in the use of ionizing and non-ionizing radiation to promote high standards of patient care in diagnostic medical imaging, interventional procedures and therapeutic treatment. The ARRT tests and certifies technologists and administers continuing education and ethics requirements for their annual registration.

ARRT Primary Disciplines of Certification
The ARRT provides certification in three primary disciplines of radiologic technology; Radiography, Nuclear Medicine Technology, Sonography, Magnetic Resonance Imaging and Radiation Therapy.

Upon completion of the Magnetic Resonance Imaging program at UNMC, graduates are eligible to apply for the national examination for certification offered by the ARRT.

For more information about the ARRT and requirements for certification and registration please contact: 
The American Registry of Radiologic Technologists
1255 Northland Drive
St. Paul, MN 55120-1155
Phone: 651.687.0048

Depending on the state in which you decide to practice, you may also be required to become licensed as a radiologic technologist. Each state has their own laws in regard to licensure. Individual states hold the authority to administer the license and grant individuals permission to practice radiologic technology within their state.

For more information on licensure in Nebraska, please click here.