Certification & Licensure

Licensure Disclosure

The US Department of Education requires UNMC to make the following disclosures to applicants who are interested in or enrolled in degree programs that lead to state licensure or certification.
Certification and licensure requirements differ from state to state. We are required to notify you if the program you are interested in or enrolled in will meet educational requirements to apply for certification or licensure in your home state. The official categories are: Meets; Does Not Meet; and Have Not Made a Determination if it Does or Does Not Meet.

A Does Not Meet or Have Not Made a Determination status does not indicate that you will be unable to obtain certification or licensure in your home state. Please check with your advisor, department chair, or certification officer for further details. Contact information for each program is found in the program sections below.

Common causes for a Does Not Meet or Have Not Made a Determination include the following:

PA Program

Upon successful completion and graduation from the ARC-PA accredited UNMC Master of Physician Assistant Studies (MPAS) program, students are eligible to take the Physician Assistant National Certifying Examination (PANCE) through the National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants (NCCPA).

Individuals will be eligible to seek licensure following both graduation from the UNMC MPAS program and passage of the national certifying exam (PANCE) for all 50 U.S. states and the District of Columbia.

Licensure and certification laws vary greatly and are implemented differently in each state. Some states may have individual requirements unrelated to educational training, such as fingerprinting, background checks, and other requirements. Refer to individual states’ licensure information for specific requirements.

The determination in the table below assumes those requirements have been met.
This is information is current as of July 1, 2022. It is the responsibility of the student to confirm licensure eligibility.


Does Not Meet

Have Not Made a Determination

Nebraska, Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming NA NA

For further information, contact:
Pamela Dickey, MPAS, PA-C
Division website

Additional information and resources regarding licensure is available from the American Academy of Physician Assistants (AAPA).