Certification & Licensure

Licensure Disclosure

The US Department of Education requires UNMC to make the following disclosures to applicants who are interested in or enrolled in degree programs that lead to state licensure or certification.

Certification and licensure requirements differ from state to state. We are required to notify you if the program you are interested in or enrolled in will meet educational requirements to apply for certification or licensure in your home state. The official categories are: Meets; Does Not Meet; and Have Not Made a Determination if it Does or Does Not Meet.

A Does Not Meet or Have Not Made a Determination status does not indicate that you will be unable to obtain certification or licensure in your home state. Please check with your advisor, department chair, or certification officer for further details. Contact information for each program is found in the program sections below.

Common causes for a Does Not Meet or Have Not Made a Determination include the following:

Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT) Program

All candidates for licensure as a physical therapist in the state of Nebraska must have graduated from a physical therapist program accredited by the Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE) and satisfactorily completed the National Physical Therapy Examination (NPTE) offered by the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT) and the Jurisprudence exam offered by the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS).

Each licensing authority (state or province) has its own eligibility criteria for licensure, which may include a state-specific jurisprudence exam, background check, etc. The UNMC DPT program meets the licensure requirements for an accredited program for the states and provinces listed below.

This is information is current as of January 10, 2023. It is the responsibility of the student to confirm licensure eligibility.


Does Not Meet

Have Not Made a Determination

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

NA Puerto Rico

For further information, contact:
Sara Bills 402.559.4217

Program website

Additional information and resources regarding licensure is available from the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy webpage.