Award Recipients

2018 College of Public Health Alumni Award Recipients

Erin Carlson, DrPH, MPH '04
Distinguished Alumnus Award


Dr. Erin Carlson is Associate Clinical Professor at University of Texas at Arlington’s (UTA) College of Nursing and Health Innovation where she oversees development of graduate public health programs. Prior to her role at UTA, Dr. Carlson previously worked as a principle and co-investigator on community-based infectious disease research, and projects concerning access to health care for vulnerable immigrant populations. Her work has been funded by Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Health Resources and Services Administration, National Science Foundation, and several state organizations. She has received numerous research and teaching awards including the Robert Wood Johnson Emerging Scholar Award in Disparities Research and UTA’s prestigious William S. Ward Endowment Award. Dr. Carlson has consulted for the CDC and Veterinarians Without Borders on a variety of international infectious disease projects such as revised tuberculosis control protocols for the National Tuberculosis Control Programme in India, and infectious disease surveillance in Uganda. Currently, Dr. Carlson devotes much of her research and volunteer efforts to her passion-- access to health care for uninsured, underserved immigrant populations.

Salomon Compaore, MD, MPH '14
Early Career Achievement Award


Dr Salomon Compaore is the head of the Disease Control and Prevention Office at the Center Region Health Directorate in Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso. He received his MD from the University of Ouagadougou in June 2009 and his MPH from the University of Nebraska Medical Center in 2014. Before graduating with his MPH he worked as research associate with the UNMC internal medicine department and then joined the NDHHS in Lincoln where he filled a Project coordinator position with the Office of Health Statistics. Thereafter he worked for the Southern Nevada Health District as Epidemiologist before returning to Burkina Faso where he joined the Ministry of health and was appointed head of the Office of Disease Control and Prevention amid an outbreak of Dengue fever in the central region of the Country.

In addition to public health practice Salomon is a peer reviewer with the Journal of Cancer Education and an avid researcher who is still to add the adjective prolific next to researcher. He has published on the need of cervical cancer education in Burkina and co-authored an abstract on a multijurisdictional norovirus outbreak from a road race in Laughlin, NV in 2017. He is currently designing the regional dengue ripost plan for the year 2018. When he is not at work surrounded with his papers, books and computers, he spends time biking in the city under the rain or the snow or playing soccer. He might also be found driving around the countryside with friends or sipping on hot green tea in the steamy weather of Ouagadougou.


Spirit of Service Award

This award is given to the COPH Alumni Engagement Council Member or supporter who most greatly embodies a spirit of service to the Council. This spirit may be shown through their actions, the resources they provide in time, talent, or contributions they provide, or their outward dedication to the Council and its continued success.  The first Spirit of Service Award was presented in 2011 to James R. Anderson, PhD.  A former faculty member and associate dean at the College of Public Health, he is considered one of the alumni Council's earliest and most committed supporters. 

Michele Kassmeier, MPH

Kathleen T. Brandert, MPH, CHES

Alice M. Schumaker, PhD, MPA, MS

James R. Anderson, PhD