Nebraska Outcomes Research Laboratory

The overarching goal of our research is to improve patient outcomes in perioperative, pain, and critical care medicine settings.

We use existing large datasets in addition to conducting large pragmatic clinical trials as well as participating in conventional RCTs. Our research is highly collaborative, and we work successfully with researchers in internal medicine, family medicine, cardiology, neurology, surgery, psychiatry, pediatrics, as well as basic science. A principal focus of our group is to provide meaningful mentoring to medical students, trainees, and junior faculty—we have brought 30+ mentees to their first peer-reviewed publications and have received support from FAER, ARCS, and IARS for our students.

Current funding: AHRQ – Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (R01), NIH - National Institute on Drug Abuse (K23), NIH - National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (R13), Foundation for Anesthesia Education and Research (Resident Scholar, Medical Student Anesthesia Research Fellowship programs), Society of Cardiovascular Anesthesiologists Kaplan Leadership Award.

Past funding awarded: CO Department of Health Care Policy & Financing, Achievement Rewards for College Scientists (ARCS) Foundation, International Anesthesia Research Society (Scholars Award), Society of Cardiovascular Anesthesiologists (Roizen Award).


Team Members

Chika Akwani     bagenda-square  
Chika Akwani, BS
Clinical Research Associate II
  Danstan Bagenda, PhD
Principal Investigator, Epidemiologist
Karmen Delancey, RN
Research Nurse 
  Bradley Eichorn, MD
Research Resident 
Rob Hansen      
Rob Hansen, MPA, CRA
Research Grants Administrator II
  Julia Hoffman, RN, MSN
Research Director
Robert Lobato, MD, MS, FASA, FASE
Principal Investigator
  Megan Rolfzen, MD
Research Resident
Emely Sanchez
Rodriguez, BS

Research Assistant 
  Bailey B. Williams, BS Research Assistant




John Gallego, MD | Research Fellow 

Januka Nepal, MBBS | Research Fellow 

Juana Mora Valdovinos | Student