2023 MIDWEST RADIATION ONCOLOGY SYMPOSIUM



University of Nebraska Medical Center

SYMPOSIUM FACULTY

Symposium Director

Chi Lin, MD, PhD

Professor and Vice Chair of Research, Department of Radiation Oncology

Keynote Speakers

Eric Ford, PhD, DABR, FAAPM, FASTRO

Professor; Director and Vice-Chair of Medical Physics; George E. Laramore, MD PhD Endowed Professor, Department of Radiation Oncology, University of Washington, Seattle, WA

Jeff M. Michalski, MD, MBA, FASTRO

Carlos A. Perez Distinguished Professor; Vice Chair and Director of Clinical Programs, Department of Radiation Oncology, Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, St. Louis, MO

Symposium Faculty – UNMC

Omar K. M. Abughanimeh, MBBS Assistant Professor, Division of Oncology and Hematology, Department of Internal Medicine

Ellie Bacon, MS Physics Resident, Department of Radiation Oncology

Michael Baine, MD, PhD Assistant Professor, Department of Radiation Oncology

Christopher M. Bingcang, MD Assistant Professor, Department of Otolaryngology - Head & Neck Surgery

Christopher R. D'Angelo, MD Assistant Professor, Division of Oncology and Hematology, Department of Internal Medicine

Charles A. Enke, MD, FASTRO, FACR Chairman and Professor, Department of Radiation Oncology

Kyle J. Gallagher, PhD, DABR Assistant Professor, Department of Radiation Oncology

Samuel Hendley, PhD Adjunct Professor, Department of Radiation Oncology

Friday, Aug. 18

7:15 a.m.	Registration / Continental Breakfast / Exhibits
7:40 a.m.	Department Chair Welcome and Introductory Remarks Charles A. Enke, MD, FASTRO, FACR
SESSION 1: GEN Moderator: Micha	ITOURINARY CANCER el Baine, MD, PhD
8:00 a.m.	KEYNOTE PRESENTATION: Prostate Cancer Clinical Trials in the Radiation Therapy Oncology Group/NRG Oncology: A Paradigm for Clinical Research Jeff M. Michalski, MD, MBA, FASTRO
8:40 a.m.	Q&A
9:00 a.m.	Cystoscope and Adjuvant Testing to Determine Response to Neoadjuvant Chemotherapy to Identify Patients for Bladder Sparing Protocols for Muscle Invasive Bladder Cancer Jared P. Schober, MD
9:25 a.m.	Current and Emerging Systemic Therapy Paradigms with Bladder Chemoradiation Benjamin A. Teply, MD
9:50 a.m.	Local Treatment Options in Localized Invasive Bladder Cancer: Framing the Role of Radiation Therapy in the Context of Emerging Data Michael Baine, MD, PhD
10:15 a.m.	Q&A
10:35 a.m.	Break
SESSION 2: LYMPHOMA Moderator: Charles A. Enke, MD, FASTRO, FACR	
10:55 a.m.	Sequencing of CAR-T Therapy for B-cell Lymphoma: Current and Future Landscape Christopher R. D'Angelo, MD
11:20 a.m.	CAR-T Therapy for B-cell Lymphoma: Does Radiation Therapy Have a Role? Charles A. Enke, MD, FASTRO, FACR
11:45 a.m.	Q&A
12:05 p.m.	Lunch

SESSION 3: HEAD AND NECK CANCER

Moderator: Weining (Ken) Zhen, MD, FACR, FASTRO

1:05 p.m.	Transoral Laser Surgery for Early-Stage Larynx Cancer Christopher M. Bingcang, MD
1:30 p.m.	Laryngeal Preservation Therapy (LPT) for Locally Advanced-Stage Larynx Cancer Weining (Ken) Zhen, MD, FACR, FASTRO
1:55 p.m.	Systemic Therapy in Recurrent and Metastatic Head and Neck Cancer Omar K. M. Abughanimeh, MBBS
2:20 p.m.	Q&A
2:40 p.m.	Break
	ENTRAL NERVOUS SYSTEM CANCER (Kevin) Zhang, MD, PhD
3:00 p.m.	Evidence-Based Applications of Proton Therapy for Brain Tumors Chi (Kevin) Zhang, MD, PhD
3:25 p.m.	Surgical Advancement in Thoracolumbar Tumors Miki Katzir, MD
3:50 p.m.	Deciphering Molecular Mechanisms Triggering Pediatric Group 3 Medulloblastomas Sidharth Mahapatra, MD, PhD
4:15 p.m.	Q&A
4:35 p.m.	Adjourn for the Day

Saturday, Aug. 19

7:15 a.m.	Registration / Continental Breakfast / Exhibits	
7:40 a.m.	Physics Director Opening Remarks Su-min Zhou, PhD	
SESSION 5: MEDICAL PHYSICS AND ACCESS TO CARE Moderator: Megan Hyun, PhD, DABR		
8:00 a.m.	KEYNOTE PRESENTATION: Access to Quality Care in Oncology Eric Ford, PhD, DABR, FAAPM, FASTRO	
8:40 a.m.	Q&A	
9:00 a.m.	Offline Adaptive Prostate Radiotherapy in Rural Medicine and Other Low-Resource Settings Ellie Bacon, MS	
9:25 a.m.	Q&A	

Megan Hyun, PhD, DABR Associate Professor, Department of Radiation Oncology

Miki Katzir, MD Assistant Professor, Department of Neurosurgery; Director, Surgical Spine Oncology, Fred & Pamela Buffett Cancer Center, Nebraska Medicine

Mridula Krishnan, MBBS Assistant Professor, Division of Oncology and Hematology, Department of Internal Medicine

Sean Langenfield, MD, FACS, FASCRS Professor and Chief, Colon and Rectal Surgery, Department of Surgery

Sidharth Mahapatra, MD, PhD Associate Professor, Division of Critical Care, Department of Pediatrics

Jessica Maxwell, MD, MSc Associate Professor, Division of Surgical Oncology, Department of Surgery

Kyuhak Oh, PhD Physics Resident, Department of Radiation Oncology

Jared P. Schober, MD Assistant Professor, Division of Urologic Surgery, Department of Surgery

Diane Schott, PhD Assistant Professor, Department of Radiation Oncology

Benjamin A. Teply, MD Associate Professor, Division of Oncology and Hematology, Department of Internal Medicine

Andrew Wahl, MD Associate Professor; Medical Residency Program Director, Department of Radiation Oncology

Shannon L. Wong, MD Associate Professor; Residency Program Director, Division of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery, Department of Surgery

Ying Yan, PhD Professor, Department of Radiation Oncology

Chi (Kevin) Zhang, MD, PhD Associate Professor, Department of Radiation Oncology

Weining (Ken) Zhen, MD, FACR, FASTRO Professor and Medical Director, Department of Radiation Oncology

Su-min Zhou, PhD Professor and Director of Medical Physics, Department of Radiation Oncology

Symposium Faculty - non-UNMC

Sarah Wisnoskie, MS, DABR Medical Physicist, Novant Health Forsyth Medical Center, Winston-Salem, NC

SESSION 6: PHYSICS AND RADIOBIOLOGY OF FLASH Moderator: Kyle J. Gallagher, PhD, DABR 9:35 a.m. Initial Experience with an Electron FLASH System Kyuhak Oh, PhD and Su-min Zhou, PhD 10:00 a.m. Biological Effects of Ultra-High Dose Rate (FLASH) Radiation on Normal and Cancer Cells Ying Yan, PhD 10:25 a.m. Q&A 10:40 a.m. Break **SESSION 7: MEDICAL PHYSICS EDUCATION** Moderator: Diane Schott, PhD 11:00 a.m. Global Health Rotation in Low- and Middle-Income Countries During Medical Physics **Residency Training Program** Samuel Hendley, PhD and Kyle J. Gallagher, PhD, DABR 11:25 a.m. E-Learning Modules: Bringing Health Professions Educational Content to a Broader Audience Sarah Wisnoskie, MS, DABR 11:50 a.m. Q&A 12:05 p.m. Lunch **SESSION 8: BREAST CANCER** Moderator: Andrew Wahl, MD 1:05 p.m. **Oncoplastic Considerations After Breast-Conserving Surgery** Jessica Maxwell, MD, MSc 1:30 p.m. Plastic Surgery Approaches After Mastectomy for Breast Cancer Shannon L. Wong, MD 1:55 p.m. Cosmetic Outcomes Following Breast or Chest Wall Radiotherapy Andrew Wahl, MD 2:20 p.m. Q&A 2:40 p.m. Break **SESSION 9: GASTROINTESTINAL CANCER** Moderator: Chi Lin, MD, PhD 3:00 p.m. Immunotherapy in Colorectal Cancer - What, When, and How? Mridula Krishnan, MBBS 3:25 p.m. When the Guidelines Can't Keep Up: Evidence-Based Management of Rectal Cancer Sean Langenfeld, MD, FACS, FASCRS 3:50 p.m. The Role of Short-Course and Long-Course Radiation Therapy in the Total Neoadjuvant Therapy for Locally Advanced Rectal Adenocarcinoma Chi Lin, MD, PhD Q&A 4:15 p.m. 4:35 p.m. Closing Comments by the Department Vice Chair of Research Chi Lin, MD, PhD

4:45 p.m.

Adjourn

Symposium Planning Committee

Charles A. Enke, MD, FACR, FASTRO Megan Hyun, PhD, DABR Heidi Keeler, PhD, MSN/MBA, RN Chi Lin, MD, PhD Renee Paulin, MSN, RN, CWOCN Brenda Ram, CMP, CHCP Charlene Rhodd, MS, CMD, RT (R)(T)(CT) Courtney Smith Ann L. Yager, MHA, BS, RT (R)(T) Chi (Kevin) Zhang, MD, PhD