IDeA States Pediatric Network


The Institutional Development Award (IDeA) program was established by the National Institutes of Health (NIH) in order to create a more level playing field with regards to federal biomedical research funding. This program supports faculty development and research infrastructure enhancement at institutions in 23 states and Puerto Rico, and is intended to include rural and underrepresented communities in research initiatives.

As a part of their Environmental influences on Child Health Outcomes (ECHO) program, the NIH utilized existing IDeA resources to create the IDeA States Pediatric Network (ISPN), a group of 18 states that were awarded funding to establish pediatric research centers in states that are not generally well-represented in clinical research. These states include:

Alaska: Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium
Arkansas: Arkansas Children's Research Institute
Delaware: Nemours Alfred I. duPont Hospital for Children
Hawaii: University of Hawaii at Manoa
Kansas: University of Kansas Medical Center
Kentucky: University of Louisville
Louisiana: Louisiana State University Pennington Biomedical Research Center
Mississippi: University of Mississippi Medical Center
Montana: University of Montana
Nebraska: University of Nebraska Medical Center
New Hampshire: Dartmouth College
New Mexico: University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center
Oklahoma: University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center
Rhode Island: Rhode Island Hospital
South Carolina: University of South Carolina at Columbia
South Dakota: Avera McKennan
Vermont: University of Vermont and State Agricultural College
West Virginia: West Virginia University

The Nebraska Pediatric Clinical Trials Unit is Nebraska’s representative in the ISPN, and aims to establish UNMC as a hub for pediatric clinical research in the region.

The ISPN has a research portal where investigators can register to learn more about clinical research and access resources such as webinars and toolkits. Register for access to the ISPN Research Portal Dashboard, or email the NPCTU to subscribe to our mailing list.