

THE UNIVERSITY OF NEBRASKA COLLEGE OF MEDICINE

PROMOTION AND TENURE COMMITTEE

2022-2023 ANNUAL REPORT

The Promotion and Tenure Committee is composed of the following members:

Membership

The voting membership of the P&T Committee is limited to members of the General Faculty and there are no student or resident/fellow members of this committee. The P&T Committee will be broken out into two separate sub-committees as follows:

Committee Structure:

The Professor and Tenure Promotion Committee (PTPC) evaluates applications for rank promotion and/or tenure in the following categories:

Current Rank	Proposed Advancement
Assistant Professor	Associate Professor with Tenure (Rank and Tenure)
Associate Professor	Associate Professor with Tenure (Tenure only)
Associate Professor	Professor (Rank only)
Associate Professor with Tenure	Professor with Tenure (Rank only)
Professor	Professor with Tenure (Tenure only)
Clinical Associate Professor	Clinical Professor (legacy only – not available to new
	faculty)

The Assistant and Associate Promotions Committee (AAPC) evaluates applications for rank promotion in the following categories:

Current Rank	Proposed Advancement
Instructor	Assistant Professor
Assistant Professor	Associate Professor
Clinical Instructor	Clinical Assistant (legacy only – not available to new
	faculty)
Clinical Assistant Professor	Clinical Professor (legacy only – not available to new
	faculty)



Membership of the two subcommittees included:

A - Professor and Tenure Promotion Subcommittee (PTPC)

Name	Department
Teri J. Mauch, M.D., Ph.D., Chair	Pediatrics
Vimla Band, Ph.D., Co-Chair	GCBA (Biochem-courtesy)
Mark A. Carlson, M.D. Paul D. Fey, Ph.D.	Surgery (GCBA-courtesy)
	Path/Micro (IM-courtesy)
Georgette D. Kanmogne, Ph.D.*	Pharmacology
Whitney Goldner, MD	Internal Med DEM
Ming-Fong Lin, PhD	Biochem and Molecular Biology (Surgery - Urologic courtesy)
Jared Marx, MD	Emergency Medicine
Rana Zabad, MD	Neurological Sciences
Carol Casey, Ph.D.	Internal Med GI (Biochem-courtesy)

^{*}Dr. Kanmogne has completed two three-year terms on the committee and will be replaced by John Makari, MD, Urology, for the 2023-2024 cycle.

B - Assistant and Associate Promotion Subcommittee (AAPC)

Name	Department
Wallace B. Thoreson, Ph.D., Vice Chair	Ophthalmology (PEN-courtesy)
Allison Cushman-Vokoun, MD, Co-Chair	Path/Micro
Steven P. Wengel, M.D.	Psychiatry (Neuro Sc-courtesy)
Kim Latacha, PhD	GCBA
Arika Hoffman, MD	Surgery - Transplant
Justin Mott, MD, PhD	Biochemistry (Int Med GI- courtesy)
Erika Boesen, PhD	Cellular & Integrative Physiology
Sid Byrareddy, PhD	PEN
Justin Siebler, MD	Orthopedic Surgery
Sheila Ellis, M.D.	Anesthesiology

Ex-officio (non-voting)

<u> </u>		
Peter F. Coccia, M.D. ((ex-officio)	Pediatrics

In order to avoid conflict of interest and to evenly balance the workload, committee A also reviewed seven Assistant to Associate Professor applications that would normally be reviewed by committee B, as well as volunteer faculty requests for promotion. Recommendations were reviewed and voted on at the

meetings held each Monday (committee A) and Wednesday (committee B) from January 16, 2023, through February 1, 2023.

The following recommendations were forwarded to the Dean, and Department chairs and faculty members were notified of the Committee's recommendations:

Recommendations for awarding of tenure	
Recommendations for awarding of promotion to Associate Professor with tenure	2
Recommendations for awarding of promotion to Professor with tenure	3
Recommendations for promotion to Assistant Professor*	7
Recommendations for promotion to Associate Professor	
Recommendations for promotion to Professor	

^{*}Includes volunteer faculty

Total recommendations: 67

Percent of recommendations supported/not supported: .99% / .01%

In addition to the above, the committee co-chairs met with Dean Britigan to discuss revision of the College of Medicine Promotion and Tenure guidelines. A final draft is being prepared and will be submitted to the Dean, Faculty Council, and the General Faculty. Approval of these changes are pending at the time of this report. One significant change will be the addition of Level 2 accomplishments in Service to criteria for promotion to Associate Professor, in order to better recognize contributions in promotion of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion. Level 2 service is already considered in promotion to Professor and for the Award of Tenure, so this change brings promotion to Associate Professor in line with criteria for other actions by the committee. We also clarified that, once appointed to or promoted on the Health Professions track, the candidate would be presumed to have met criteria for the level of that track, and that further promotion would be considered to be iterative.

Respectfully submitted by

Chair, Promotion and Tenure Committee

Wallace Thoreson, PhD

Vice-Chair, Promotion and Tenure Committee