Phase 1 Block Directors

Each block of the Phase 1 Curriculum has two block directors whose specialties align with the content of that block. The blocks also have specialists that lecture within the block. Students will learn key principles and objectives through a variety of learning experiences focused on interactive and facilitated learning in both the classroom and clinical environments.  UNMC encourages learning in small groups and extensively incorporates simulation into its clinical curriculum.
Semester 1  

Richard MacDonald, PhD - Co-leader
Travis McCumber, PhD - Co-leader

Blood, Defenses and Invaders:
Geoffrey Thiele, PhD - Co-leader
Shelley Williams, MD - Co-leader

Musculoskeletal and Integument:
Amy Cannella, MD - Co-leader
Kim Latacha, PhD - Co-leader

Semester 2  

Neha Goyal, MBBS - Co-leader
Irving Zucker, PhD - Co-leader

Daniel Hershberger, MD - Co-leader
Harold Schultz, PhD - Co-leader

Ryan Mullane, MD - Co-leader
Troy Plumb, MD - Co-leader
Steven Sansom, PhD - Co-leader

Robert Norgren, PhD - Leader
Shannon Lynch, MD - Co-leader
Riley Machal, MD - Co-leader
Erin Smith, MD - Co-leader
Semester 3  

Justin Mott, MD/PhD - Co-leader
Fedja Rochling, MBBCH
 - Co-leader

Endocrine and Metabolism:
Brian Boerner, MD - Co-leader
Shyamal Roy, PhD - Co-leader

Genitourinary, Reproductive and Development:
Keely Cassidy, PhD - Co-leader
Chris Deibert, MD
 - Co-leader

Multi-organ Systems
Sara Bares, MD - Co-leader
Amy Cannella, MD - Co-leader
Andrea Zimmer, MD - Co-leader