Guthmiller.jpgJanet Guthmiller, DDS, PhD, Dean

Janet Guthmiller, DDS, PhD, became the dean of the UNMC College of Dentistry on Sept. 1, 2014. She is the first woman to serve as dean of the college.

Dr. Guthmiller is a nationally recognized leader in dental education and an accomplished researcher, author and teacher. She currently serves as the president of the Supreme Chapter of Omicron Kappa Upsilon (OKU), a national organization that promotes academic excellence and professionalism among dental students and educators. She also serves as secretary of the administrative board of the American Dental Education Association Council of Deans, a national organization that studies current issues facing dental students. 

Dr. Guthmiller is committed to the UNMC College of Dentistry’s tripartite mission of education, research and service. Her influence on the college, UNMC and the state of Nebraska is far-reaching. She has led numerous initiatives to advance the mission of the college, including:

Dr. Guthmiller has received multiple awards for outstanding achievement in leadership and education. She received a Distinguished Alumni Award for Professional Achievement from Northwestern College in 2015, a Distinguished Alumnus Award from the Cellular and Structural Biology Program at the University of Texas Health Science Center in San Antonio in 2016, and a Honorary Life Membership Award in 2016 and Distinguished Service Award in 2021 from the UNMC College of Dentistry Alumni Association.

Before coming to UNMC, Dr. Guthmiller held the positions of associate dean of academic affairs and professor in the department of periodontology at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Dentistry, and was a faculty member at the University of Maryland School of Dentistry and the University of Iowa College of Dentistry. 

As an educator, she has a passion for mentorship programs. She was named the Faculty Mentor of the Year in 2007 by the National Student Research Group of the American Association for Dental Research and received the organization's Faculty Advisor Appreciation Award in 2012. At the University of Iowa, she was the 2006 recipient of the prestigious University of Iowa Collegiate Teaching Award and was named Faculty Mentor of the Year in 2007.

Dr. Guthmiller has special interests in genetic studies of periodontal bacteria and the expression and activity of innate antimicrobial peptides. She is the author of two books, seven book chapters, 45 journal articles and online educational modules, and 66 journal abstracts (see publication listing), and the recipient of multiple grants from organizations including the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and the Nebraska Coordinating Commission for Postsecondary Education. 

Dr. Guthmiller is a Diplomate of the American Board of Periodontology and Fellow of the American College of Dentists and the International College of Dentists. She earned her DDS from the University of Iowa College of Dentistry and her Periodontal Certificate and PhD in Cellular and Structural Biology from the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio as a part of the NIH-sponsored Dentist-Scientist Program.

Associate and Assistant Deans

saksena-2018.jpg  James K. Wahl, III, PhD  
Yun Saksena
Associate Dean for Education
James K. Wahl
Interim Associate Dean for Research

Farhangpour_Amir-web.jpg vogt-2013
Amir Farhangpour
Assistant Dean for Clinic Operations
Merlyn W. Vogt
Assistant Dean for Student Affairs and Director of Admissions