Team Building the Pipeline of IDeAs: Strength in the diversity of our students, faculty, and community

Day 1

8:30-9:20 Opening Remarks and Introduction
  8:30-8:40 Paul Sorgen, Ph.D.  NE-INBRE PI
  8:40- 9:10 (Presentation) Jon R. Lorsch, Ph.D. NIGMS Director
  9:10-9:20 (Q&A) Jon R. Lorsch, Ph.D. NIGMS Director
9:20-9:50 Keynote Speaker
  9:20-9:50  Ali Khan MD, MPH, MBA Dean, College of Public Health, UNMC
9:50-10:20 IDeA Leaders (10 min each)
  9:50-10:00  Konstantin Gus Kousoulas, Ph.D.  NAIPI President
  10:00 - 10:10 Doug Wright, Ph.D.   SHARP HUB
  10:10 - 10:20 Matthew Rizzo, M.D.  Great Plains IDeA-CTR
10:20-10:30 Break
10:30-11:00 Workshop (Team Building the Pipeline of IDeAs) (Matt Rizzo, M.D., UNMC)
11:00-12:30 Concurrent Session (6x 10 min talks with 5 min Q/A)
  1. Obesity Diseases (Co-Chairs: Drs. Ma (OUHSC) and Zempleni (UNL))
  2. COVID-19 (Co-Chairs: Drs. Huber (USD) and Liu (OSU)) 
12:30-1:00 Lunch Break
1:00-2:15 Poster Session 1 (Faculty/Graduate Students/Undergraduate Students)
2:15-3:45 Concurrent Session (6x 10 min talks with 5 min Q/A)
  1. CTR (Co-Chairs: Drs. Basson (UND) and VanWagoner (OUHSC))
  2. Neuroscience (Co-Chairs: Drs. Kirkpatrick (KSU) and Dunavesky (UNMC))
3:45-3:55 Break
3:55-4:25 Keynote Speaker
  3:55-4:25 Steve Soper Ph.D. Department of Chemistry, KU

Day 2

8:30-8:35 Opening Remarks
8:35-9:05 Concurrent Sessions
  1. Undergraduate Workshop (Dr. Sorgen, UNMC)
  2. Graduate Student Workshop (Dr. Caplan, UNMC)
  3. Faculty Workshop (Dr. Basavappa, Program Leader for the Common Fund program in the NIH Office of Director)
  4. Core Facilities Workshop (Dr. Kuenstling, UNMC)
9:05-9:35 Keynote Speaker
  9:05-9:35  Sheritta Strong M.D. Director of Inclusion, UNMC
9:35-9:45 Break
9:45-11:15 Concurrent Session (6x 10 min talks with 5 min Q/A)
  1. Drug Addiction Research (Co-Chairs: Drs. Paulus (UO) and Bevins (UNL))
  2. Molecular Target Discovery and Development/Nanomedicine (Co-Chairs: Drs. West (OU) and Guzman (KU))
11:15-12:30 Poster Session 2 (DRPP Faculty/Graduate Students/Undergraduate Students)
12:30-1:00 INBRE Undergraduate Rising Stars (Cash award and certificate) (Julie Soukup, CU)
1:00 Conference Concludes - NISBRE 2022/Central Region IDeA Meeting 2023