Student Education

Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine
Drs. Bailey, Boer, Cawcutt, Dickinson, Gannon, Hershberger, Murphy, Piquette, Romberger, Sisson, Sullivan, Thompson, Wichman

Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine requires a three-year residency in Internal Medicine followed by a combined three-year fellowship in Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine.  There are a few Pulmonary Medicine-only fellowships that are two years in duration as well as some Critical Care Medicine-only fellowships that are also two years in duration.  Most internal medicine residents interested in this subspecialty prefer to apply to combined fellowship programs. 

Allergy and Immunology
Dr. Poole

Allergy and Immunology requires a three-year residency in Internal Medicine followed by a two-year fellowship in Allergy and Immunology.

Sleep Medicine
Drs. Harrington and Summers

Sleep Medicine is a multidisciplinary specialty so residents from family medicine, internal medicine, neurology, otolaryngology, pediatrics and psychiatry are eligible.  It is a one-year fellowship, which includes training in interpretation of adult and pediatric studies.

We hope this explanation of our subspecialties piques your interest in exploring one or more of the rotations offered by our division and encourage you to discuss your interests with our faculty.

For more information, please contact Kelly Robertson at (402) 559-8115.