Social Media

Internal Medicine Social Media Taskforce

The Department of Internal Medicine Social Media (IM SoMe) taskforce provides active social media and education to interested faculty and trainees.

The taskforce goals are:

The taskforce has representation from all divisions with Dr. Poonam Velagapudi as Chair.

Contact Division
Anne Smith General Internal Medicine & Hospital Medicine
Dr. Grant Turner Pulmonary, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine
Dr. Karina Bishop Geriatrics, Gerontology & Palliative Medicine
Dr. Kelsey Klute Hematology & Oncology
Dr. Nic Cortes-Penfield Infectious Disease
Dr. Poonam Velagapudi Cardiovascular Medicine
Rhonda Prewitt Allergy & Immunology
Dr. Ryan Mullane Nephrology
Dr. Sarah Holstein Hematology & Oncology
Terah Riddle Gastroenterology & Hepatology
Dr. Tina Mahajan Rheumatology 

 Dr. Poonam Velagapudi
Dr. Velagapudi can be reached via email or on twitter (@pooh_velagapudi).
Shannon Thomsen can be reached via email.
You can also contact us directly by sending a direct message to @UNMC_IM on Twitter.

Guidance and policies on using social media

If you are considering creating a new UNMC social media page, you must first schedule a social media consultation with Digital Media Manager Aurelie Villard before creating an account.

Helpful information on launching social media for UNMC department or faculty.

Social Media Best Practices for UNMC Hosted Accounts

Social Media Policies:


Nebraska Medicine

Media Authorization form.