Board of Counselors names officers, new members

June 13, 2018

Image with caption: The UNMC Board of Counselors advises UNMC Chancellor Jeffrey P. Gold, M.D., on health care issues of importance.

The UNMC Board of Counselors advises UNMC Chancellor Jeffrey P. Gold, M.D., on health care issues of importance.

The UNMC Board of Counselors held its annual meeting recently, naming new officers and welcoming 14 new members.

The board -- a group of more than 80 community and business leaders from across the state of Nebraska -- advises UNMC Chancellor Jeffrey P. Gold, M.D., on health care issues of importance.

Mike Jones, president of Jones Insurance Agency of David City, Neb., will serve as chairperson, succeeding Dave Wimmer, retired chairperson and CEO of Wimmer's Meat Products of West Point, Neb. Weysan Dun, Dun Global Solutions Group LLC, will serve as vice-chairperson.

Below are the 14 new board members.

Broken Bow - Connie Adams, co-owner, Adams Land and Cattle Company and retired teacher;
Hastings - Jessica Meeske, D.D.S., pediatric dentist, Pediatric Dental Specialists of Greater Nebraska;
Kearney - Jon Abegglen, senior loan officer, First National Bank in Kearney; Darren Robinson, president, Buffalo County Economic Council;
Lincoln - Preeta Bansal, CEO of Social Emergence Corp. and lecturer, MIT media lab; Susan Bockrath, executive director, Nebraska Association of Local Health Directors; Jon Hinrichs, M.D., family medicine physician;
Omaha - Laura Alley, business development and community relations, Alley-Poyner Macchietto Architecture; Ann Bird, private consultant, independent education management; N.P. "Sandy" Dodge, IV, president emeritus and chairman of the board, N.P. Dodge Company; Charles Sederstrom Jr., partner, Erickson & Sederstrom Law Firm; Richard Webb, executive director, 100 Black Men of Omaha; Bob Wolfson, owner, Bob Wolfson Consulting and co-founder of WeLaunch; and
York - Charles Harris, board chair, York General Health Care Services and vice president of the York Community Foundation.

Below are the board members who continue to serve.

Alliance - David Briggs, CEO, Westco;
Bellevue - Rita Sanders, Bellevue mayor and director, Richmont Village;
Doniphan -- Ann Martin, president, IdeaBank Marketing;
Gothenburg - Susan Williams, retired registered nurse;
Grand Island - Alice Quick, nurse, CHI Health St. Francis; Lisa Willman, agent, State Farm Agency;
Kearney - Marilyn Hadley, Ed.D., professor emeritus, University of Nebraska at Kearney, president, Nebraska Foundation for the Humanities; and Thomas Henning, president and CEO, Cash-Wa Distributing Co.;
Lincoln - Mary Abel, retired vice president, commercial loans, Union Bank and Trust; Leirion Gaylor-Baird, city councilwoman, Lincoln City Council; Barbara Bartle, president, Lincoln Community Foundation; Matthew Bergmeyer, 2nd vice president, commercial lending, First National Bank of Omaha; Charlie Bills, financial advisor, Wells Fargo Advisors, LLC; Bill Cintani, owner, CEO, Mapes Industry; Judi gaiashkibos, executive director, Nebraska Commission on Indian Affairs; Ben Harris, CEO, Crossroads Capital, Inc.; William "Bill" Lester, executive vice president/treasurer, Ameritas; Cindy Morris, vice president and chief financial officer, Duncan Aviation; Joseph V. Petty III, M.D., anesthesiologist, CHI Health Nebraska Heart and Bryan Health; Bryan Shank, vice president, commercial banking, Union Bank and Trust Company; John Spatz, executive director, Nebraska Association of School Boards; Jana Tanner, home health liaison, Physician's Choice Home Health Care; and Judy Wilcox, community volunteer;
Mullen - Margaret Cavanaugh-Boyer, M.D., partner, Sandhills Family Medicine;
Norfolk - Bradley Krivohlavek, D.D.S., dentist;
North Platte - Dan O'Neill, owner and CEO, Kwik Stop Convenience Stores; Judy Pederson, owner, Pro Printing and Graphics;
Omaha - Willie Barney, president, Empowerment Network; Sara Boyd, CEO, Omaha Community Foundation; Howard W. Buffett, president and co-owner, Buffett Farms Nebraska LLC; Ruben Cano, principal, Omaha South High Magnet School; John Cavanaugh, vice president, Holland Children's Movement; Rev. Portia Cavitt, pastor, Clair Memorial United Methodist Church; Joyce Cooper, manager, corporate diversity & advocacy, Omaha Public Power District; Theola Cooper, crime prevention specialist, Omaha Police Department; Sean M. Conway, attorney, Doran, Lustgarten & Troia, PC; Howard Epstein, executive director, Jewish Federation of Omaha Foundation; Viv Ewing, Ph.D., executive director, Nebraska Families Collaborative; Gail Graeve, executive director, Mutual of Omaha Foundation; Kellie Harry, legislative consultant, federal government affairs, Mutual of Omaha Insurance Company; Joseph Hodges Jr., president, Lion's Gate Security Solutions, Inc.; Mary Ann Holland, community volunteer; Emiliano Lerda, J.D., LLM, executive director, Justice for Our Neighbors-Nebraska; Nuzhat Mahmood, director, program management and planning, CSG International; Kenny McMorris, president and CEO, Charles Drew Health Center; Othello Meadows III, executive director, Seventy-five North Revitalization Corp; Allyson Mendoza, J.D., attorney, Douglas County Public Defender's Office; and Ariel Roblin, president and general manager, KETV television; Susan Roffman Norton, J.D., civic leader; Doug Schroder, art teacher and gallery director, Duchesne Academy; Brad von Gillern, president, Lueder Construction Company; Thomas Warren, president & CEO, Urban League of Nebraska; and Roger Weitz, general director, Opera Omaha;
Red Cloud - Amy Springer, M.D., physician, Webster County Hospital;
Seward - Michael Hecker, executive vice president of operations and board member, Jones National Bank and Trust Company;
Scottsbluff - Sandy Massey, senior VP-director of human resources, Platte Valley Companies; Todd Sorensen, M.D., retired president and CEO, Regional West Health Services;
Sidney - Evette Ranslem-Parsons, director of marketing and public relations, Sidney Regional Medical Center;
Valentine - Marian Davenport, nurse, Valentine Community Schools;
Wayne - Jill Broderson, architect, Homestead Homes of America, Inc.;
West Point - Nadine Hagedorn, senior vice president, Bank First;
Whitman - Tanya Storer, commissioner, Cherry County; and
York - Margaret Brink, president, National Association of Local Boards of Health.


Fill out the following and your comment will post once it has been approved.

Name (Required)

Email (Required)

Thank you, your comment will appear below once it has been approved.