Clinical Assistant Professor

Director, Morehead Center for Nursing Practice

Director, DNP Program


University of Nebraska Medical Center (UNMC)
College of Nursing - Lincoln Division
550 N 19th Street
Lincoln, NE 68588-0620

Phone: 402-472-7352
Email: leann.holmes@unmc.edu



  • 1992, BSN, South Dakota State University
  • 1998, MSN, UNMC
  • 2014, DNP, UNMC


Dr. LeAnn Holmes is the Director of the DNP Program and the Director of the Morehead Center for Nursing Practice. Her work for these programs is across all campuses but she is based on the Lincoln campus. She is 1992 graduate of SDSU in Brookings SD, and a 1998 MSN/FNP and 2014 DNP graduate of UNMC. After over 20 years of clinical practice in various areas ranging from primary care to nursing executive as a family nurse practitioner, she joined academics with the goal of bringing enhanced nurse practitioners to all communities. Since her sons are now grown, her dogs now demand all her off-work attention, and she is always up for traveling whenever and wherever.


Research Interests

  • NP Residencies
  • Increased Access to NP Care
  • Faculty Practice

Grant Support (Previous 5 years)

June 2019-June 2023
HRSA ANE-NPR, $1.6 million, Holmes, L. (P.I.)


Holmes, L. & Waltman, N. (2019). Increased Access to Nurse Practitioner Care in Rural Nebraska After Removal of Required Integrated Practice Agreement. Journal of the American Association of Nurse Practitioners, 31(5), 288-292.

Holmes, L., Struwe, L. & Waltman, N. (2018). Evaluation of an Antibiotic Stewardship Program in a University Health Center. The Journal for Nurse Practitioners, 14(3), e57–e61

Gonzales, K., Hanish, A., Klein, A., Stappert, D., Zegers, C., Holmes, L. & Fiandt, K. (2020) Perceived impact of faculty practice on nurse practitioner education. Journal of Professional Nursing, 36, 181-188. doi: 10.1016/j.profnurs.2019.12.004


2018- present Provider, Hart & Arndt Family Health.

2018- present STI provider, Lincoln Lancaster Co Health.

2019-present Practice Leadership Network, AACN.

2015-present Member, grant/scholarship reviewer, FAANP.

1991-1999, 2013 Member, Sigma Theta Tau.

1997 to present NE state representative (2010-2016); member 2000-present, American Association of Nurse Practitioners.

1996 to present Chair, Education Committee Chair, Legislative Committee Co-chair, Legislative Committee, member, Nebraska Nurse Practitioners.


2017 AANP, State Award for Excellence.

2015 FAANP, Fellow.

2012 NNP, Doctoral Scholarship Winner.