Davis Lab

Overview

Director: John S. Davis, Ph.D.

The fertility of humans and domestic livestock is steadily decreasing. Many women’s health issues are linked to changes in reproductive hormones. Our studies to understand the basic physiological processes that regulate the differentiation of ovarian cells and the production of steroid hormones will allow new strategies to improve fertility, prevent early pregnancy losses, and develop more effective contraceptives. We are also examining the possibility that elevated blood levels of highly glycosylated pituitary hormones may contribute to osteoporosis during menopause. Additionally, our studies to understand the mechanisms that control ovarian angiogenesis and ovarian cancer may lead to the development of new therapies for the treatment of this deadly disease.

Our research studies the physiological events and molecular mechanisms that regulate the cyclical function of the ovary and its pathologies, such as steroid synthesis and ovarian cancer. These processes are controlled by the actions of various hormones and growth factors that initiate a complex pattern of intracellular signaling events. Unraveling these signaling events is our passion and will provide important clues for therapeutic interventions to improve women’s health.

 

Lab Members

davis

John S. Davis, Ph.D.
jsdavis@unmc.edu

 blum

Haley G. Blum
haley.blum@unmc.edu

 clark

Kendra Clark
kendra.clark@unmc.edu

     

George

Jitu George
jitu.george@unmc.edu

 hou.jpg

Xiaoying Hou, M.D.
xhou@unmc.edu

 guohua

Guohua Hua
guohua.hua@unmc.edu

     

ibrahim.jpg

Shima Ibrahim

 Liang

Aixin Liang
aixin.liang@unmc.edu

 Plews

Michele Plewes
michele.plewes@unmc.edu

     

Przygrodzka

Emilia Przygrodzka
emilia.przygrodzka@unmc.edu

 zhang

Pan Zhang
pan.zhang@unmc.edu