Faculty Receive UNMC Distinguished Scientist Awards

Alexander V. Kabanov, Ph.D., D.Sc., Parke-Davis Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences and Director, Center for Drug Delivery and Nanomedicine, Uday B. Kompella, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Vinod D. Labhasetwar, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences, were among the inaugural group of twenty-five UNMC faculty to receive UNMC Distinguished Scientist Awards for their outstanding research achievements and sustained contributions to UNMC’s research mission. The Award is $10,000 and the recipients will be honored at a special banquet in March.

"These award winners are some of the real heroes of the UNMC research program," said Thomas Rosenquist, Ph.D., Vice Chancellor for Research at UNMC. "Their selection was based upon rigorous criteria, and the competition was very strong. I am proud of the true excellence of all the UNMC research professionals."

Dr. Kabanov

Dr. Kabanov

Uday B. Kompella, Ph.D.

Dr. Kompella

Dr. Labhasetwar

Dr. Labhasetwar

2006 Distinguished Scientists from the other UNMC units included:

College of Dentistry

Jeffrey Payne, D.D.S.
Margaret Wheelock, Ph.D.

College of Medicine

Surinder Batra, Ph.D.
Carol Casey, Ph.D.
Wing C. (John) Chan, M.D.
Steve Hinrichs, M.D.
Pascale Lane, M.D., (MMI)
Ming-Fong Lin, Ph.D.
William Mayhan, Ph.D.
Keith Mueller, Ph.D.
Stephen Rennard, M.D.
J. Graham Sharp, Ph.D.

Rakesh Singh, Ph.D.
Shelley Smith, Ph.D., (MMI)
Geoffrey Thiele, Ph.D.
Wallace Thoresen, Ph.D.

College of Nursing

Ann Berger, Ph.D.
Susan Noble Walker, Ed.D.

Eppley Institute

Michael A. Hollingsworth, Ph.D.
Robert Lewis, Ph.D.
Joyce Solheim, Ph.D.
Kay-Uwe Wagner, Ph.D.