Previous Award Winners

Postdoctoral Pathway to Independence Award Winners

One of the emphases of UNMC's Office of Postdoctoral Education is to facilitate postdocs' timely transition to an independent career. Thus, the Pathway to Independence Award recognizes a scholar who demonstrates an exceptional preparation for the transition during the first three years at UNMC. The following is a list of our previous award winners.

2012 – 2015 Winners  
In 2012, the Postdoctoral Scholar of the Year Award became the Postdoctoral Pathway to Independence Award. The 2012 - 2015 winners include:

Jing Li PhD

2015: Jing Li, PhD 

Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Mentor: David Oupicky, PhD
Read Research Announcement

Adam J Case, PhD

2014: Adam J Case, PhD 

Department of Cellular & Integrative Physiology
Mentor: Matt Zimmerman, PhD
Read UNMC Today article

Tara Nordgren, PhD

2013: Tara Nordgren, PhD 

Department of Pulmonary, Critical Care, Sleep & Allergy
Mentor: Debra Romberger, PhD
Read UNMC Today article

Mark Hanke, PhD

2012: Mark Hanke, PhD

Department of Pathology & Microbiology
Mentor: Tammy Kielian, PhD
Read UNMC Today article