Previous Award Winners

Postdoctoral Pathway to Independence Award Winners

One of the emphases of UNMC's Office of Postdoctoral Education is to facilitate postdocs' timely transition to an independent career. Thus, the Pathway to Independence Award recognizes a scholar who demonstrates an exceptional preparation for the transition during the first three years at UNMC. The following is a list of our previous award winners.

2012 – 2015 Winners  
In 2012, the Postdoctoral Scholar of the Year Award became the Postdoctoral Pathway to Independence Award. The 2012 - 2015 winners include:

Jing Li Ph.D.

2015: Jing Li, Ph.D. 

Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Mentor: David Oupicky, Ph.D.
Read Research Announcement

Adam J Case, Ph.D.

2014: Adam J Case, Ph.D. 

Department of Cellular & Integrative Physiology
Mentor: Matt Zimmerman, Ph.D.
Read UNMC Today article

Tara Nordgren, Ph.D.

2013: Tara Nordgren, Ph.D. 

Department of Pulmonary, Critical Care, Sleep & Allergy
Mentor: Debra Romberger, Ph.D.
Read UNMC Today article

Mark Hanke, Ph.D.

2012: Mark Hanke, Ph.D.

Department of Pathology & Microbiology
Mentor: Tammy Kielian, Ph.D.
Read UNMC Today article