UNMC College of Public Health Receives the Harrison C. Spencer Award

The UNMC College of Public Health has recently been awarded the Harrison C. Spencer Award for Outstanding Community Service by the Association of Schools and Programs of Public Health (ASPPH).

This award is a statement of exceptional community partnerships the college has developed over the years to address community health needs across the state of Nebraska. 

The UNMC College of Public Health is one of two colleges of public health to receive the award. The other is the National Taiwan University College of Public Health. This is the first time in history that there have been two awardees for this prestigious award. The award comes with a plaque and $5,000 cash prize to be distributed to one or more of community partners. 

On behalf of the College, Dr. Dejun Su from the Center for Reducing Health Disparities submitted an application for this award last November. He then co-led our efforts in hosting the ASPPH site visit to UNMC with Dr. Brandon Grimm in February 2020 when the CRHD team also invited community partners to meet with representatives from ASPPH.