Kenneth A. Follett, M.D., PhD, F.A.C.S.

Kenneth Follett

Kenneth Follett, M.D., is Professor and Chief  and Program Director of Neurosurgery at the University of Nebraska Medical Center. Dr. Follett is Board Certified by the American Board of Neurological Surgeons and the American Board of Pain Medicine. His areas of special interest are stereotactic/functional neurosurgery and neurosurgical pain management. He is the national chair of a multicenter clinical trial of deep brain stimulation for Parkinson’s Disease, sponsored by the Department of Veterans Affairs and the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. In addition to his interest in the clinical applications of DBS for the treatment of movement disorders, he is interested in the basic science and clinical management of pain. He has published numerous articles related to his clinical and research activities and is the editor of the textbook “Neurosurgical Pain Management.” He has given numerous national and international presentations relevant to his areas of interest.

Dr. Follett has been active in national neurosurgery and pain medicine organizations. He has served on numerous local, regional, and national committees, including those associated with the AANS and CNS. He is a member of the Board of Directors of the American Academy of Pain Medicine and is current President of the American Board of Pain Medicine

Bachelor of Science, Concordia College, Seward, Nebraska
M.S., Medical Sciences, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, Nebraska
Physiology, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, Nebraska
Medical Degree University of Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, Nebraska Internship and residency, University of Iowa Hospitals, Iowa City, Iowa

Society for Neuroscience, Congress of Neurological Surgeons, American Association of Neurological Surgeons, American Medical Association, Midwest Neurosurgical Society, Research Society of Neurological Surgeons, AANS/CNS Joint Section on Pain, International Association for the Study of Pain, American Academy of Pain Medicine, Fellow of the American College of Surgeons, North American Neuromodulation Society