Distinguished Scientists

They are the best and brightest from all over the world, working tirelessly right here in the heartland to discover treatments and cures for life-threatening diseases. They are at the center of discovery, conducting breakthrough research that will improve the lives of Nebraskans and beyond. They are UNMC's Distinguished Scientists.  Read about past awardees.

2021 Call for Nominations

The Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research currently is accepting nominations for the following research faculty awards: Scientist Laureate Award, Research Leadership Award, Distinguished Scientist Award and New Investigator Award. These awards recognize UNMC faculty for their outstanding research achievements and sustained contributions to UNMC's research mission.

Nominees for the Distinguished Scientist Award must:
  • Have a minimum of one year of service at UNMC prior to the award year;
  • be an associate professor or above; and
  • Have a history of extramural funding at UNMC.
Nominees for the Scientist Laureate Award must meet all the above criteria and:
  • Have a minimum of five years of service at UNMC prior to the award year.

The Research Leadership Award recognizes past Distinguished Scientist Awardees with a record of consistent national funding and demonstrated research leadership.

Assistant professors who have received their first independent national funding in the past fiscal year (July 1, 2020 - June 30, 2021) are eligible for the New Investigator Award.

Final candidates will be selected based upon publication number and impact, research funding and evidence of research leadership and collaboration.

Anyone is eligible to submit a nomination. Please submit your nominations with a copy of the nominee's curriculum vitae through the NU Ramp internal competitions application on or before Sept. 24. The nomination form may be accessed on the same site. A process guide for creating a new application in NU Ramp is available on UNMC Guides.

Nominators may direct any questions about the process to James Geiger in the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research.