Staff Committees

Nebraska Medicine and UNMC Staff Well-being
Health care professionals and staff endure a great deal of stress on a daily basis. In many ways, it is the nature of healthcare that we shoulder this burden individually and internalize our stress. A project team has been established to develop a comprehensive plan to provide support and improve resilience among staff at Nebraska Medicine and UNMC.

Contact: Yunnie Low (, Projects & Initiatives Office

UNMC Wellness Council
The council consists of a peer group that represents a cross-section of employees. Members guide wellness information and activities by assisting in the planning, implementation and evaluating of their worksite wellness program. Members are ultimately responsible for promoting the organization's strategic wellness goals.

Wellbeing Coordinating Council Members
Name Title
Denise Britigan, PhD, MA, CHES Assistant Professor, College of Public Health, Department of Health Promotion, Social & Behavior Health
Karen Burbach Senior Associate Director, Communication and Creative Services, Department of Public Relations 
David Carver, PhD Executive Director, Counseling & Student Development Center
Kelly Caverzagie, MD Associate Professor, Internal Medicine, Special Associate Dean, Education Strategy, College of Medicine 
Lois Colburn Executive Director, Center for Continuing Education
Valeta Creason-Wahl Program Associate, Continuing Nursing Education
Dele Davies, MD, MS, MHCM Vice Chancellor, Academic Affairs, Dean, Graduate Studies 
Cynthia Ellis, MD, FAAP Professor Pediatrics and Psychiatry, Munroe Meyer Institute for Genetics and Rehabilitation
Jackie Farley Educational Projects Coordinator, Continuing Education
Emily Glenn, MSLS Education & Research Services Librarian, McGoogan Library of Medicine
Janet Guthmiller, DDS, PhD Dean and Professor, College of Dentistry
Linda Jensen, PhD, RN Professor, Graduate Nursing, Clarkson College
Amy Jenson Executive Director, Healing Arts
Heidi Keeler, PhD, RN Assistant Professor & Director, Continuing Nursing Education, College of Nursing
Howard Liu, MD Associate Professor, Psychiatry, College of Medicine & Assistant Vice Chancellor for Faculty Development, Academic Affairs
Linda Love, EdD, MA Assistant Director of Faculty Development, Academic Affairs
Jyoti Mahapatra, MD Medical Director, Emergency Department, Nebraska Orthopedic Hospital; Clinical Instructor, Emergency Medicine, UNMC, Nebraska Medicine
Terri Mashek Employee Learning and Development Manager
Maria McGee, MD, MS, MPH Chief, Division of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, Department of Psychiatry
Jayme Nekuda, PhD Associate Director, Human Resources
Sue Nuss, PhD, RN Chief Nursing Officer, Nebraska Medicine
Bill O’Neill Director, Public Relations
Julie Sebastian, PhD, RN, FAAN Dean and Professor, College of Nursing
Marcia Shadle-Cusic, MA, MS Student Wellness Advocate, Academic Affairs Office
Sasha Shillcutt, MD, MS, FASE Associate Professor & Vice Chair of Strategy and Clinical Transformation, Department of Anesthesiology, College of Medicine
Jonathon Sikorski, PhD Director of Wellness Education & Assistant Professor, Department of Psychiatry
Susan Smith Graduate Medical Education, COM
M.W. “Dub” Vogt, DDS Assistant Dean for Student Affairs, Director of Admissions, College of Dentistry
Michael Wadman, MD Chairperson & Professor, Emergency Medicine, College of Medicine
Aileen Warren Assistant Vice Chancellor and Director, Human Resources, UNMC
Nizar Wehbi, MD, MPH, MBA Assistant Professor, Health Services Research and Administration and Acting Deputy Director, Center for Health Policy, College of Public Health
Steven Wengel, MD Chair, Department of Psychiatry
Rowen Zetterman, MD, MACP, MACG Director, Faculty Mentorship Programs and Associate Vice Chancellor for Planning