University of Nebraska Medical Center

Adam R. Karpf, PhD

Professor, UNMC Eppley Institute for Research in Cancer and Allied Diseases
Full Member, Fred & Pamela Buffett Cancer Center
Research focus: Ovarian cancer; therapeutics, epigenetics


Adam R. Karpf

Adam Karpf, PhD, is a tenured professor in the UNMC Eppley Institute for Research in Cancer and Allied Diseases, and is a member of the Fred and Pamela Buffett Cancer Center at UNMC.

He earned his PhD in virology at the University of Texas at Austin in 1997 and completed his postdoctoral training at the Huntsman Cancer Institute at the University of Utah in Salt Lake City in 2002.

He has held faculty positions at the University of Utah, the Roswell Park Cancer Institute in Buffalo, NY, and UNMC, which he joined in 2012.

Dr. Karpf is an expert in ovarian cancer biology and therapy, and his current research centers on investigating new molecular targets and therapeutic approaches for the treatment of ovarian cancer.

  • PhD in Virology, University of Texas, Austin
  • MA in Microbiology, University of Texas, Austin
  • BS in Biology, University of South Florida, Tampa
The Karpf Lab focuses on understanding oncogenic mechanisms in high-grade serous ovarian cancer and using this information to develop new therapeutic approaches. HGSOC is the most common and deadly form of ovarian cancer. Specific projects are centered on the transcription factor FOXM1, its bidirectional gene partner RHNO1, and the cell cycle regulator CCNE1.
  • 2022 Springer Nature Author Service Award
  • 2017 Solicited Reviewer, PNAS Contributed Article of Dr. Stephen Baylin
  • 2016 Solicited Reviewer, PNAS Inaugural Article of Dr. Peter A. Jones
  • 2015 Interviewed for PBS Newshour, December 9.
  • 2013 UNMC Distinguished Scientist Award
  • 2010 Speaker, Science Magazine/AAAS Webinar: DNA Methylation Research
  • 2009 Travel Award, IACRLRD Symposium
  • 2008-2009 Vice President, Epigenetics Society
  • 2006-2007 Board of Directors, Epigenetics Society
  • 2004-2005 Ralph Wilson Medical Research Foundation Scholar
  • 2002 The Susan Cooper Jones Fellowship in Cancer Research
  • 2000 AACR-AFLAC Scholar Award in Cancer Research
  • 1999 AACR-AFLAC Scholar Award in Cancer Research
  • 1999-2002 American Cancer Society Postdoctoral Fellow