University of Nebraska Medical Center

External Advisory Board

The external advisory board for the Central States Center for Agricultural Safety and Health provides strategic planning, guidance, and advice. The advisors serve as force multipliers to enhance the center’s effectiveness, expanding the center’s reach, and increasing the sustainability of center efforts.


Marilyn Adams

Founding President, Farm Safety 4 Just Kids (Earlham, IA)

Denise Andress

Director, Western North Dakota AHEC (Hettinger, ND)

Alfredo DiCostanzo

Beef Systems Extension Educator, University of Nebraska Lincoln Extension (West Point, NE)

Brad Forristall

Farmer and Agribusiness Owner (Carson, IA)

Karen Funkenbusch

Extension Director, University of Missouri (Columbia, MO)

Dr. Roger Hoy

Professor of Biological Systems Engineering, University of Nebraska at Lincoln (Lincoln, NE)

Angela Johnson

Extension Coordinator Farm and Ranch Safety, North Dakota State University (Fargo, ND)

Mike Keenan

Senior VP Loss Control Services, Gallagher, Insurance (Omaha, NE)

Allison Keyser Metobo

Epidemiologist, Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services (Lincoln, NE)

Dr. Steven Kirkhorn

Director, Occupational and Environmental Medicine Academic Program, Midwest Center for Occupational Health and Safety (Minneapolis, MN)

Tawnie Larson

Project Coordinator, Kansas State University Department of Biological and Agricultural Engineering, AgrAbility (Manhattan, KS)

Bonita Lederer

Director of Producer Education, Nebraska Cattlemen (Lincoln, NE)

Brad Rein

USDA - retired

Brad Snyder

Director Brand Reputation, Nationwide Insurance (Des Moines, IA)

Derry Stover

Injury Epidemiologist, Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services (Lincoln, NE)

Cheryl Tevis

Journalist and Founding Member of Iowa Women in Agriculture (Pilot Mound, IA)