University of Nebraska Medical Center

Nebraska Antimicrobial Stewardship Summit (Attendee Information)

This site is intended for registered participants of the Nebraska Antimicrobial Stewardship Summit held Aug. 12, 2022, at the Embassy Suites by Hilton Omaha—Downtown Old Market, Omaha, NE. 


Welcome! Thank you for joining us. 

Nebraska Antimicrobial Stewardship Summit: Refocusing on Stewardship

With workload increases and staffing limitations due to COVID-19, the focus has shifted away from antimicrobial stewardship in many facilities across diverse healthcare settings. Unfortunately, inappropriate antibiotic prescribing is common and can result in sub-optimal patient outcomes, the development of antimicrobial resistance, and serious adverse reactions such as Clostridioides difficile infection. This summit is designed to highlight the importance of antimicrobial stewardship and focus on implementation strategies to promote facility-wide incorporation and improved antimicrobial use and patient outcomes.

Download the summit agenda

Summit General Information

Faculty and Planning Committee Disclosures

Read the UNMC CCE Disclosure Declaration Policy


The accredited provider has mitigated and is disclosing identified relevant financial relationships for the following faculty, planners, and others in control of content prior to assuming their roles.

The following have disclosed relevant financial relationships:


  • Bryan Alexander, PharmD, BCIDP, AAHIVP
    Advisory Board Member: Astellas Pharma
    Research Funding: Merck
  • Scott Bergman, PharmD, FCCP, FIDSA, BCIDP*
    Advisory Board Member, Research Grants: Merck
    Advisory Board member: Pfizer

  •  Paul Fey, PhD
    Grant Funding: Merck, BioFire/Biomerieux
  • Jeffrey A. Linder, MD, MPH, FACP
    Stock: Amgen, Biogen, Eli Lilly

Planning Committee

  • John Horne, MD
    Owner: MDstewardship
  •  Trevor VanSchooneveld, MD
    Research Support, Consultant: BioFire/Biomerieux
    Research Support: Insmed, Merck
    Consultant: Thermo-Fischer
  • Renuga Vivekanandan, MD
    Owner: MDstewardship


The following have nothing to disclose:


  • Jennifer Anthone, PharmD, BCPS
  • M. Salman Ashraf, MBBS*
  • Dayla Boldt, PharmD, BCPS-AQ ID
  • Sharon Conroy, BSN, RN, CIC
  • Christopher Crnich, MD, PhD
  • Matthew Donahue, MD
  • Ghinwa Khalid Dumyati, MD
  • Kristi Felix, MSN, RN, CRRN, CIC, FAPIC
  • Anna Fisher, DHA, CMDCP, CDP, OCP*
  • Katryna Gouin, MPH
  • Sarah Hayes, PharmD
  • Sarah Kabbani, MD, MSc
  • Sara May, MD
  • Alex Neukirch, PharmD*
  • Jennifer Zwiener, PharmD, BCPS

Planning Committee

  • Roxanne Alter, MS, MLS (ASCP)CM
  • Valeta Creason-Wahl, HMCC
  • Margaret Deacy
  • Margaret Drake, MT (ASCP), CIC
  • Andrea Green Hines, MD
  • Ishrat Kamal-Ahmed, PhD, MSc
  • Heidi Keeler, PhD, RN
  • Aaron Lanik, MD
  • Rebecca Martinez, RN, CIC
  • William Neff, RPh
  • Renee Paulin, MSN, RN, CWOCN
  • Lacey Pavlovsky, MSN, RN, CIC
  • Susan Purcell, RN, CPHQ
  • Brenda Ram, CMP, CHCP
  • Jeannie Stastny, CPhT
  • Kate Tyner, RN, CIC
  • Tod Voss, MD, CMD, FAAFP
  • Andrew Watkins, PharmD, BCIDP
  • Tara Whitmire, DNP, APRN-NP, CHFN
  • Bailey Wrenn, MA

 *Faculty and planning committee member

Speaker Handouts

The following materials (in PDF) are available for download until Oct. 12, 2022. No part of these materials may be reproduced without prior written permission.


Post-Acute and Long-Term Care Track
Acute Care and Ambulatory Track

Requirements for Successful Completion

In order to receive continuing education credits, you must:

  1. Check in at the registration desk and attend the live activity.
  2. Complete the online evaluation via the UNMC MyCCE portal.
    • On your dashboard, click Evaluate an Activity.
    • Enter Activity Code 54079.

You have 60 days to claim credit for this activity. You will need to complete the evaluation and attest to the time you spent participating in the activity. Your certificate will be saved in your UNMC MyCCE account under Certificates & Transcripts.

Forgot password? Learn how to reset your UNMC MyCCE portal password 

Activity Director

Associate Medical Director, Antimicrobial Stewardship; Associate Medical Director, Infection Control & Epidemiology; Associate Professor, Division of Infectious Diseases, Department of Internal Medicine, UNMC

M. Salman Ashraf, MBBS


Bailey Wrenn, MA

Educational Projects Coordinator
UNMC Center for Continuing Education


Bailey Wrenn