University of Nebraska Medical Center

Certification & Licensure

Licensure Disclosure

The US Department of Education requires UNMC to make the following disclosures to applicants who are interested in or enrolled in degree programs that lead to state licensure or certification.

Certification and licensure requirements differ from state to state. We are required to notify you if the program you are interested in or enrolled in will meet educational requirements to apply for licensure in your home state. The official categories are: "Meets"; "Does Not Meet"; and "Have Not Made a Determination if it Does or Does Not Meet."

A "Does Not Meet" or "Have Not Made a Determination" status DOES NOT indicate that you will be unable to obtain licensure in your home state. Please check with your advisor or department chair, for further details. Contact information for each program is found in the program sections below.

Common causes for a "Does Not Meet" or "Have Not Made a Determination" include the following:

  • Your home state licensing agency requires a transcript review prior to application for a license.
  • Your home state requires you to take an additional course or exam specific to that state’s history or laws. These courses and exams are not offered in Nebraska.

Medical Laboratory Science (MLS) Program

Nebraska does not require a medical laboratory scientist to have a state license (NE is a non-licensure state).

States other than Nebraska may require a state license. Requirements such as fingerprinting, background checks, and other requirements may vary between states.

Status by State

This is information is current as of February 1, 2024. It is the responsibility of the student to confirm licensure eligibility.


Does Not Meet

Have Not Made a Determination

Nebraska, Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming New York California, Florida, Hawaii, Louisiana, Montana, Nevada, North Dakota, Puerto Rico, Tennessee, West Virginia
For further information, contact:
Karen Honeycutt 402-559-9045

Program website

Additional information and resources regarding licensure is available from the American Society for Clinical Pathology Board of Certification.