University of Nebraska Medical Center

Certification & Licensure

General Disclosure

The US Department of Education requires the Magnetic Resonance Imaging program to provide professional licensure information to students regarding academic programs that lead to a professional licensure or certification that is required for employment. Professional licensure/certification requirements vary from state to state, which may affect a student’s ability to apply for a professional license/certification upon the completion of the program.

Please check with your advisor, department chair, or certification officer for further details.

Magnetic Resonance Imaging Program

Upon successful completion of the Magnetic Resonance Imaging program, students are eligible to apply to take the national examination for certification and registration in MRI by the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists. Upon successfully passing the ARRT certification exam, individuals should refer to the American Society of Radiologic Technologists Individual State Licensure Information page for specific MRI licensure requirements for the state in which they are planning to work.

Licensure and certification laws vary greatly and are implemented differently in each state. Some states may have individual requirements unrelated to educational training, such as fingerprinting, background checks, and other requirements. Refer to individual states’ licensure information for specific requirements.

  • All JRCERT accredited programs meet the curricular requirements for state licensure and national certification.
Contact information for state licensing boards

Status by State

This is information is current as of July 1, 2024. It is the responsibility of the student to confirm licensure eligibility.

Meets Educational Requirements Does Not Meet Educational Requirements State does not Require Licensure
Nebraska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Dakota, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming American Samoa, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, the District of Columbia, Guam, the Virgin Islands, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, and the Republic of Palaus  Alabama, Alaska, Georgia, Idaho, Michigan, Missouri,  North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee 

For additional information, contact:
Stephanie Vas 402-559-2181