Ashley Wysong, M.D., M.S.

Ashley Wysong MD.jpg

Ashley Wysong, M.D., M.S.
Founding Chair and Residency Program Director (PD)
William W. Bruce, M.D. Distinguished Chair of Dermatology

Dr. Wysong is UNMC Department of Dermatology Founding Chair and William W. Bruce MD Distinguished Chair of Dermatology.  She also holds courtesty appointments in Otolaryngology Head & Neck Surgery and Pathology & Microbiology in the College of Medicine as well as Epidemiology in the College of Public Health.  She is a member of the Graduate Studies Faculty at the University of Nebraska in Cancer Biology.  She serves as the Medical Director of Dermatology at Nebraska Medicine and is the Director of the Skin Cancer Program at the Fred & Pamela Buffett Cancer Center.  Prior to coming to UNMC, Dr. Wysong was University of Southern California’s Director of Mohs Micrographic Surgery and Procedural Dermatology in the Department of Dermatology. She obtained her master’s degree in epidemiology in the Stanford University’s Department of Health Research and Policy.  She earned her medical degree at Duke University School of Medicine where she was valedictorian of her medical school class. Dr. Wysong completed her residency in dermatology at Stanford University where she also served as chief resident. Her fellowship in procedural dermatology and Mohs micrographic surgery was completed at Scripps Clinic under the direction of Dr. Hugh Greenway in Mohs surgery, Dr. Victor Ross in laser and cosmetic dermatology, and Dr. Leland Housman in veins.  Dr. Greenway, Dr. Wysong's mentor, trained with Dr. Fredrick Mohs, who invented "Mohs" surgery.

Dr. Wysong specializes in Mohs surgery and reconstruction for melanoma and non-melanoma skin cancer.  In addition to dermatology, she holds courtesy appointments in the departments of pathology/microbiology and otolaryngology head and neck surgery in the College of Medicine as well as epidemiology in the College of Public Health.  She lectures nationally and internationally on complex facial reconstruction, particularly of large, multi-subunit defects after skin cancer surgery. Dr. Wysong was elected the prestigious 2016 "Iron Surgeon" by her peers at the American Society of Dermatologic Surgery (ASDS) Annual Meeting. Surgeons compete to receive the audience-awarded gold medal for the best approach to a complicated facial reconstruction. Dr. Wysong also practices the use of laser and cosmetic techniques for the revision of surgical, traumatic, and burn scars. Finally, Dr. Wysong is certified by the American Board of Venolymphatic Medicine to perform medical and surgical treatment for patients with varicose veins and other vein conditions. 

Dr. Wysong has a special interest and expertise in locally advanced and metastatic squamous cell carcinoma and basal cell carcinoma, as well as treatment of rare skin tumors. As the Director of the Skin Cancer Program at the Fred and Pamela Buffett Cancer Center she is developing multidisciplinary programs in melanoma/sarcoma, high-risk non-melanoma skin cancer, merkel cell carcinoma, and cutaneous lymphoma. She was previously the Director of the University of Southern California Multidisciplinary Cutaneous Tumor Board and is now an active participant in the UNMC Melanoma and High Risk Cutaneous H&N Tumor Boards.  Dr. Wysong has significant experience treating skin cancer in high-risk populations such as patients with organ transplants, leukemia/lymphoma, HIV, and other forms of chronic immunosuppression.

As a cancer epidemiologist and translational scientist, Dr. Wysong has an broad background in clinical, translational and outcomes based research in high-risk squamous cell carcinoma and is a widely published in the medical literature. She is particularly interested in identifying novel genetic mutations in squamous cell carcinoma that can help predict which tumors can be cured by surgery alone, and which tumors are at higher risk for metastasis and death.

Dr. Wysong is active in numerous national societies and currently holds leadership positions as a member of the Board of Directors for the American College of Mohs Surgery (ACMS, 2020-2023) and the Women's Dermatologic Society (WDS, 2018-2022) and Board of Trustees for the Dermatology Foundation.  She is chair of the service committee and of the service & education council for the WDS and serves as a member on committees for the ACMS, WDS, ASDS, American Professors of Dermatology (APD) and ACGME.  Finally, she is a member of the Leaders Society and serves as the State Chair for Nebraska in the Dermatology Foundation.