About the Department

A tradition of excellence in clinical anesthesia services, graduate and postgraduate educational opportunities.

The Department of Anesthesiology at the University of Nebraska Medical Center encompasses a core group of Board Certified, Fellowship-trained Anesthesiologists, complemented by a team of Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetists as well as a select group of fellows and residents-in-training, medical students and Physician Assistants. Our goal is to provide outstanding patient care using the latest in technological advances, while providing educational and research opportunities featuring the newest innovations in medical care. We provide anesthesia services throughout UNMC and the surrounding community.

A Brief History of the Department of Anesthesiology At the University of Nebraska Medical Center

From 1962-1971, Anesthesiology was a Division of the Department of Surgery, becoming an independent Department in 1971. From 1962-64, the Division consisted of one staff, 2 CRNAs and a single resident, doubling its size in 1965 to 2 staff, 2 CRNAs and 2 residents. The Department has grown throughout the years to its current size with a staff of 41 Board Certified Anesthesiologists, 25 CRNAs and 35 Residents. Dr. John Jones served as Chairman of the Department until 1972.

The following lists the succeeding Chairs and their years of service.

Steven J. Lisco, M.D.


Kenneth A. Follett, M.D.

Interim 5/1/2010-5/2012

Sheila J. Ellis, M.D.

Interim 7/1/2008-4/30/2010

John H. Tinker, M.D.


Myrna C. Newland, M.D.

Interim 3/28/1997-4/27/1997

Dennis W. Coombs, M.D.


Myrna C. Newland, M.D.

Interim 11/11/1994-5/31/1996

Dennis F. Landers, M.D., PhD


Dennis F. Landers, M.D., PhD

Interim 9/3/1987-3/11/1989

Michael L. Nahrwold, M.D.


F. Miles Skultety, M.D., Ph.D.

Interim 2/5/1986-5/31/1986

K. Reed Peters, M.D.

Interim 8/1/1985-2/4/1986

Jan D. Smith, M.D.


Jerry Edelman, M.D.

Interim 7/1/1980-6/30/1983

Daniel W. Wingard, M.D.


Daniel W. Wingard, M.D.

Interim 11/1/1972-4/14/1973

In the 1970’s, Dr. Daniel Wingard led the Department in ongoing research studies on Malignant Hyperthermia. UNMC served as a muscle biopsy testing center from the 1970’s until the early 1990’s. Dr. James Chapin has served as an MH Hotline Consultant for over 25 years. In 1977, pediatric heart cases increased with the arrival of Dr. Bill Fleming from Atlanta. Drs. Newland, Hurlbert and Chapin provided most of the anesthesia services for these procedures. In 1985 with a faculty of 7, the Liver Transplant Program began. Dr. Reed Peters and Dr. James Chapin studied in Pittsburgh with Dr. Bud Shaw and helped found the program at UNMC. The 2000’s were highlighted by a Fellowship program in Pain Management as well as the initiation of a Fellowship program in Perioperative & Critical Care Echocardiography. Research mentoring for anesthesia residents and support for research programs with the Center for Advanced Technology and Telemedicine are also an important part of the Department of Anesthesiology.