University of Nebraska Medical Center

Educational Offices

In addition to administrative faculty, two primary offices support the educational mission of the medicine program in the College of Medicine: The Office of Admissions and Student Affairs and the Office of Medical Education. These offices are located on the fourth floor of the Michael F. Sorrell Center for Health Sciences.

The Office of Admissions and Student Affairs

The Office of Admissions and Student Affairs is responsible for recruiting, advising, and processing applications for the College of Medicine. Additionally, the office provides support to students throughout their medical education. This includes, but is not limited to, career and personal counseling, monitoring academic progress, clinical scheduling for third and fourth-year students, development of the Medical Student Performance Evaluation, assistance with Electronic Residency Application Service, and the Honors Convocation and Hooding Ceremony for senior students.

Office of Admissions and Student Affairs

Associate Dean for Admissions and Student Affairs
Professor, Department of Surgery

Assistant Dean of Student Affairs
Associate Professor, Division of Rheumatology

Assistant Dean for Admissions
Associate Professor, Department of Family Medicine

Assistant Dean for Admissions
Assistant Professor, Department of Family Medicine

Lindsay Meyer, MBA

Admissions & Student Affairs Director


Crystal Bearfield, BS

Admissions/Recruitment Associate


Cody Phillips

Student Affairs Coordinator


Rachel Samson, MA

Student Affairs Office Associate


The Office of Medical Education

The primary responsibility of the Office of Medical Education (OME) is to provide logistical and educational support to faculty and students in the delivery of the MD curriculum. This includes, but is not limited to student orientation, course delivery, assessment, educational technology, simulation, course and faculty evaluations, accreditation, and educational research.

Office of Medical Education

Associate Dean of Medical Education
Professor, Department of Pathology, Microbiology and Immunology


Kirstie Bash, PhD

Director of Student Assessment & Evaluation


Kathryn Dybdall, MS, MA

Director for the Office of Medical Education


Kari Anzalone-Stavneak, BS

Manager, Educational Support, Assessment, and Accreditation & Compliance


Renee Alley, BS

Accreditation and Curriculum Coordinator


Lindsey Rae Holmes

Accreditation Projects Associate


Ron Bechdolt

Education Program Coordinator (Phase 1)


Susan Bless, BS

Education Coordinator Assistant (All phases)


Sonia Ditter, BGS, AAA

Educational Program Coordinator (Phase 1)


Vanessa Larson

Educational Program Coordinator (Phase 3)


Nick McCormick

Educational Program/Assessment Coordinator


Tamra Nielson, BA

Assessment Coordinator (Exams, quizzes, grades)


Alex Shull

Educational Program Coordinator - Skills Activities (POCUS, Intersession Days, Acute Care Block)