Dermatology Interest Group (DIGA)

The purpose of the Dermatology Interest Group (DIGA) is to educate medical students about the field of dermatology. The goals of the group are to expose medical students to the field, to help students make connections with faculty members in the department and to raise awareness of dermatologic issues. DIGA students are involved with community outreach programs and events teaching skin cancer awareness and prevention to adolescent through adults. DIGA students are also involved with the new Sun Protection Outreach by Students (SPOTS) program designed to teach teens and school-age children about prevention and early detection of skin cancer. This group is not limited to students interested in dermatology; we encourage all students to attend monthly meetings with guest speakers involved with dermatology, in order to learn how this specialty applies to every field of medicine. In addition, this group will help students get involved in dermatologic research and partner with students on improving their residency applications.

Grand Rounds
Fourth Tuesday of each month, 5-8:00 p.m.(6-8:00pm virtual), dates and details will be sent out via email
Dermatology Journal Club
Fourth Friday of each month, 7-8:00 a.m., dates and details will be sent out via email
Website and Social Media Educational Articles
Opportunities to author articles over dermatology related topics

Mentorship program with M4’s


How to Join

For more information on becoming a part of DIGA or attending a monthly meeting, contact Stacy Schlange: stacie.schlange@unmc.edu.

Or follow us on ENGAGE and request membership.

National DIGA website:  www.derminterest.com

2022-2023 UNMC DIGA Leadership:


Stacie Schlange
DIGA President


Morgan Zabel
Mentorship Chair

Sophie Gart Headshot

Sophie Gart
Outreach Coordinator


Kim Nguyen



 Sarah Mullen
Website Coordinator



Trevor Lockard



2021-2022 UNMC DIGA Leadership:

Madison Grinnell, President
Stacie Schlange
Stacy Schlange, Secretary
Trevor Lockard
Trevor Lockard, Treasurer
Collin Pieper
Collin Pieper, Website Chair
Jacob Kingsley

Jacob Kingsley, Outreach Coordinator 

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion (DEI) Mentorship Program Committee


Marissa Lobl, PhD DEI Program Lead Coordinator

Taylor Thieman, DEI Program Committee Member

Alex Hergenrader, DEI Program Committee Member

Monica Angeletti, DEI Program Committee Member

2020-2021 UNMC DIGA Leadership:

President: Taylor (Thieman) Uhlir
Treasurer: Devor O'Connor
Secretary: Aubrey Ford
Volunteer Coordinators: Taylor Thieman, Blake Hass
Outreach Coordinator: Marissa Lobl
Mentorship Chair: Kathryn Rentfro
Website Chair: Rachel Samuelson

2019-2020 UNMC DIGA Leadership:

President: Marissa Lobl
Vice President: Madison Grinnell
Treasurer: Devor O'Connor
Secretary: Rachel Samuelson
Volunteer Coordinators: Taylor Thieman, Blake Hass
Outreach Coordinator: Zach Kwapnoski
Mentorship Chair: Luke Witte
2018-2019 UNMC DIGA Leadership:
Founding President: Tyler Evans