M1/M2

The Pediatric Interest Group introducesstudent-life medical students to the field of Pediatrics and Medicine-Pediatrics. The organization is designed to expand your knowledge of diverse aspects of the field of Pediatrics. Along with furthering your education, we offer numerous opportunities to serve the public and children through community-oriented projects. Some of these projects give you practical training interacting with pediatric populations!

2020-2021 Officers

President

Gabrielle Brumfield

gabrielle.brumfield@unmc.edu

Vice President

Natalie Rech

natalie.rech@unmc.edu

Secretary/Treasurer

Hannah Hays

hannah.hays@unmc.edu

House Calls for Kids

Garret Sacco
Lesley Towery

garret.sacco@unmc.edu 
lesley.towery@unmc.edu

Hospital Buddies

Rebecca Slotkowski

rebecca.slotkowski@unmc.edu

Apples A Day

Mary Pearson
Lauren Hoody

mary.pearson@unmc.edu
lauren.hoody@unmc.edu

Faculty Sponsors
Nate Goodrich, MD
Shannon Godsil, MD

Apples A Day
Apples A Day is a partnership between UNMC and the Omaha Public Schools Head Start Program. It is a program designed to give hands-on experience teaching nutrition to elementary school students. The goal of Apples A Day is to help kids become comfortable with medical professionals and teach them basic nutrition skills.

Hospital Buddies
This program is designed to improve the physical and emotional health of chronically ill children at The Nebraska Medical Center. This is done by providing an additional source of support for both the child and their families. Monthly activities are arranged by the Child Life Specialists. During the visit, medical students are expected to read books, play games, do craft activities, and even accompany the patient to different procedures. This is done in a strictly supportive manner.

The program has been very well received. 

House Calls for Kids
House Calls for Kids is an exciting venture in collaboration with Children’s Hospital & Medical Center. This program allows first and second year medical students to give a presentation to Head Start Programs and daycare centers. The purpose of the presentations is to familiarize children to visiting their doctor and to dispel some of their fears. This is accomplished by using dolls to demonstrate what will happen at the doctor‘s office and to let them see some of the instruments used.

View the script used for the presentations. We have also included a document with common phrases and vocabulary in Spanish. View the document.