University of Nebraska Medical Center

Excellence in Research Award

The Excellence in Research Award recognizes UNMC Postdoctoral Scholars who have made outstanding contributions to their scientific field. It is one of the two major awards offered by the Office of Postdoctoral Education and is therefore highly competitive.

Two finalists will be invited to deliver a presentation, not to exceed 12 minutes, on their research at the Office of Postdoctoral Education’s Annual Event. The winner will be announced following the presentations.

The next application period will open in fall 2024.

Details & Application

Past Recipients

2023 Recipients


  • Recipient: Murali Subramani, PhD
    Mentor: Iqbal Ahmad, PhD
  • Finalist: Sravan Jonnalagadda, PhD
    Mentor: Paul Trippier, PhD
Read the UNMC Today article
2022 – 2021 Recipients


  • Recipient: Susmita Barman, PhD
    Mentor: Punita Dhawan, PhD
  • Finalist: Wen Xue, PhD
    Mentor: Bin Duan, PhD


2020 – 2019 Recipients


  • Recipient: Johnson John, PhD
    Mentor: Jingwei Xie, PhD  
  • Finalist: Arpan Acharya, PhD
    Mentor: Siddappa Byrareddy, PhD
  • Read the UNMC Today article


  • Recipient: Christopher Aretz, PhD
    Mentor: Corey Hopkins, PhD 
  • Finalist: Jayaram Lakshmaiah Narayana, PhD
    Mentor: Guangshun Wang, PhD
2018 – 2017 Recipients


  • Recipient: Arpita Chatterjee, PhD
    Mentor: Rebecca Oberley-Deegan, PhD 
  • Finalist: Shixuan Chen, PhD
    Mentor: Jingwei Xie, PhD


  • Recipient: Shyam Nandi, PhD
    Mentor: Paras Mishra, PhD
2016 – 2015 Recipients


  • Recipient: Pooja Teotia, PhD
    Mentor: Iqbal Ahmad, PhD
  • Finalist: Arpita Chatterjee, PhD
    Mentor: Rebecca Oberley Deegan, PhD


  • Recipient: Matthew Van Hook, PhD
    Mentor: Wallace Thoreson, PhD