University of Nebraska Medical Center

Gifford-Truhlsen Conference

Thuy Doan, MD, PhD, was the 2023 Stanley M. Truhlsen, MD Memorial lecturer.

The annual Gifford-Truhlsen Conference provides a venue for presentations by the residents, fellows and alumni of the department.

Included in the conference are lectures by four prominent visiting professors, who are invited to present named lectures. These lectures are named for individuals who have contributed to the development and prominence of UNMC and the Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences. 

The 30th annual conference will be held June 6-8, 2024 and will include two days of surgical simulation training, as well as basic science and clinical science research presentations.

2024 Keynote Lectures

Read about the prominent speakers who will present named lectures at the 30th annual conference.

Harold Gifford Jr. Memorial Lecture

Richard Allen, MD, PhD, FACS will present the 2024 Gifford Lecture. Dr. Allen is an oculoplastic surgeon at TOC Eye and Face in Austin, TX, and a professor of ophthalmology at Baylor College of Medicine.

More about Dr. Allen

Stanley M. Truhlsen, MD, Memorial Lecture

Sunil Srivastava, MD will present the 2024 Truhlsen Lecture. Dr. Srivastava is a uveitis and vitreo-retinal specialist at the Cole Eye Institute at the Cleveland Clinic. He is the current fellowship director of the vitreo-retinal fellowships and Professor at Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland.

More about Dr. Srivastava

Judy and C. David Fritch, MD, Lecture

Karl Stonecipher, MD will present the 2024 Fritch Lecture. Dr. Stonecipher is a Professor of Ophthalmology at UNC School of Medicine, Raleigh, NC.

More about Dr. Stonecipher


To register for the 2024 conference, please click on the link below.

Participant/Attendee Registration

Sponsor/Company Registration

For more information, call Kim Kanellis, 402-990-7925.

Dr. Ronald Krueger at the Gifford Truhlsen conference
gifford truhlsen conference 2023
gifford truhlsen conference 2023
gifford truhlsen conference attendees