Medical Physics Residency Program

General Information

The Medical Physics Residency Program at the University of Nebraska Medical Center (UNMC) started in 2001. The program was further enhanced with a grant support from the American Society for Therapeutic Radiation Oncology (ASTRO) in 2006, and has been accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Medical Physics Educational Programs (CAMPEP) since 2008. The Residency is overseen by the faculty within UNMC’s Department of Radiation Oncology that includes eight PhD physicists and seven physicians.

The Residency is a two-year program that emphasizes clinical excellence and professional development in Radiation Oncology Physics. The expected activities, objectives and assessments to be completed during the Residency are well-defined and are presented to incoming residents on their arrival. The Residency includes didactic courses but the majority of time is spent in “hands-on” clinical rotations. Residents are expected to become an integral part of the Department of Radiation Oncology performing clinical duties while interacting closely with the entire faculty and staff, including physicians, dosimetrists, and therapists, in a collegial manner. The successful resident will be able to demonstrate competency in all areas of clinical Radiation Oncology Physics and will be qualified to take the certification examination of the American Board of Radiology in Therapeutic Radiologic Physics once prerequisites of the Board are fulfilled. The benefits of the Residency include professional career training, clinical research opportunities, a competitive salary and benefits package (health insurance, books, vacation, sick leave), university student benefits, and travel to one professional Medical Physics meeting. Graduating Residents are presented with a Certificate of Residency Completion and are expected to be well-prepared for a career in clinical medical physics. Graduates are encouraged to become contributing members of the Medical Physics community at large.

UNMC Radiation Oncology is a vibrant, growing department equipped with five modern linear accelerators (three at the main campus and two at satellite hospitals) capable of advanced techniques such as respiratory gating, optical surface monitoring, and image guided radiotherapy using OBI/Cone-beam CT’s, Calypso, and CT on rails. Treatment planning is performed by primarily using Varian Eclipse and Elekta Oncentra, but also using Philips Pinnacle, BrainLAB iPLAN, and BrachyVision systems. UNMC offers a broad range of radiation oncology procedures including: 3D-CRT, IMRT, VMAT, SRS/SBRT, TBI, TSE, IORT, and HDR/LDR brachytherapy. The Fred & Pamela Buffett Cancer Center, a state-of-the-art integrated clinical and research facility just opened in June 2017, houses the main department and three new Varian linacs with the latest technology advancement (two matched TrueBeams and one Edge).

Omaha Lifestyle: The greater Omaha area lies within the Missouri River Valley and is very accessible to other major cities either by car, air or rail. This “very livable” community of over 700,000 is progressive and can boast four Fortune 500 companies. With an excellent school system, plenty of high quality higher-level educational institutions and very affordable housing, Omaha offers plenty of opportunities to enjoy the finer things in life. Omaha has a long list of activities and recreational sites to visit.