Acute Care Surgery - Surgical Critical Care/Trauma/Emergency General Surgery

Division Chief:  Charity Evans, MD, MHCM, FACS
Division Administrator: Kimberly R. Songster, BSBA, MBA

The mission of the Acute Care Surgery service is too provide clinically excellent and compassionate care to all patients with acute surgical emergencies, traumatic injuries an critical illness. 

Nationally Certified Level 1 Trauma Center
As a nationally certified Level 1 Trauma Center, the Nebraska Medical Center is capable of providing the highest level of comprehensive care for patients of all ages with complex traumatic injuries. We offer life-saving care for severely injured patients 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year.

The Nebraska Medicine Trauma Center offer care far beyond the emergency room
A trauma center is not the same as a hospital emergency department; emergency services are only a part of a comprehensive trauma program. In addition to direct patient care, Nebraska Medicine provides leadership in education, research and trauma system planning. The depth of our specialists allow us to to take care of the most complex patients. Nebraska Medicine Trauma Center offers a variety of surgeons that specialize in traumatic injuries. All of the trauma surgeons at Nebraska Medicine are specialty trained and board certified in Critical Care surgery in order to provide additional expertise when caring for injured patients.

Trauma/Surgical Critical Care News